Love Not Hate

I have had so many emotions over the past few days — sadness, anger, hope, despair, fear, love, disgust, shock, and concern, but not hate.  I thank the Lord above and my parents who helped me know that hate is wrong and will not help.

If there is anything I hate, it is bigotry, racism, violence, abuse, harm to others, and hate of others.  I have learned though that hating these things cannot change them.  Instead action has to be taken to stand up against them, lessons have to be taught to others, ignorance must be removed with knowledge, and love has to be shown, given, and demonstrated.

Hate is a cancer that divides and conquers.  Hate seeps into everything we are and what we do if we let it.  So, I have tried my best not to hate.  For years I thought that hating someone or something was too strong an emotion to have.  I just didn’t think I could give that much energy to anything.

I have disliked things very strongly, have been furiously angry, and sometimes indifferent, but have tried to catch myself from slipping into hate.  It hasn’t always worked since I am human and have many flaws.  But I then worked hard to change my thinking, my attitude, and my heart.

I have prayed a lot during those times for the Lord to help me and show me that as Dr. King so wisely said, only love can remove hate.  And I have been praying in recent days.  And weeping, and struggling, and worrying.  And, I have been encouraged that Ian loves people of all kinds and he knows that the hate is wrong.

What saddens me is how quickly and easily so many people hate.  It seems to even be a badge of honor to some.  And, as I said in my last blog, I just don’t get that.  I don’t understand living a life when that is at the forefront of thoughts, actions, and activities.  I don’t understand hating someone who is different.  And frankly, I am thankful that I don’t.

I also want people to realize how wrong what is being done is.  There is such a long history of violence, brutality, and hate in our country and others in the world.  I want us to move on from that, learn from our mistakes, and not repeat them.  I want to remember where we came from and not go back.  We have made progress but there is still such a long way to go.

I am trying to do my part to stand up against the hate, the violence, the brutality, the ignorance, and the intolerance.  I am trying to instead encourage love, peace, knowledge, and respect.  I want us to talk with those who are different than we are.  I want us to do so without malice and preconceived notions.

This is a lot to ask, isn’t it?  After all, there is such deep-seeded feeling with these issues.  I for one think we can and must do better — for ourselves, our children, our grandchildren, and future generations.  I am hopeful yet skeptical and concerned.  I want us to move past the way it’s always been and try to improve and be kinder and gentler people.

My prayer and hope is that we can begin to heal and work on closing this divide that seems to keep growing.  Will you join me in choosing love not hate?  Will you join me in making a better world for our young people?  Will you join me in helping not harming?

Leave a Reply

