Ignorance Isn’t Bliss

Hi and Happy Tuesday.  There is a saying that ignorance is bliss.  I however, do not agree with this statement.  I like being informed and knowing what is happening.  I also like to know the facts and make up my own mind on issues.

It seems, however, that not everyone agrees with me.  Many people follow and believe what someone else tells them, whether that person is telling the truth or not.  What is the deal recently with alternate facts and shaping the view of people to fit what certain people want?  When did that become okay?

I don’t get it and I don’t like it.  And, more importantly, I don’t want my son growing up thinking that is okay.  Truth and lies are different and will continue to be.  Putting such a spin on things is an entirely different ball game.

Also the continued criticism of the media and the Constitution is troubling.  As I have said before, the media isn’t perfect and has many, many flaws.  But, they are needed in a democracy to ask questions, to present a variety of points of view, to inform us, and to investigate.  And, we as citizens should watch, read, and listen in order to become informed.

To me, they aren’t to be called lying and untrustworthy and they are certainly not an enemy of the people.  For me the enemy is the lying, the hate, the constant bickering and back-stabbing, the calling people names, the division, no democracy, no freedom, and the unwillingness to listen to someone else’s opinion.

Let me quickly say that I am biased in favor of journalists and reporters and those in the news.  I don’t agree with everything they write, say, or do.  But, I have a degree in journalism, had a career in it, and still write.  So, it is something I will continue to fight for and speak in favor of.  I do question and think about what I am reading and hearing and hope that you will do the same.

And, regarding the constitution.  Let’s remember these men who wrote this amazing document came from England and other countries where lifetime monarchies ruled.  They didn’t want that for the new world.  So, they created three equal but separate branches of government so no one could reign supreme.  The executive branch, the legislative branch, and the judicial branch all are important to our democracy and our freedom.

They also realized, as mentioned in Hamilton: The Musical, that the President should only have a certain amount of years to serve.  The song, “One Last Time” discusses the fact the President must step down and have another President elected.  Also, that the country has to have a transition of power and the ability to move on.

Another song in this amazing musical states that winning is easy, governing is much harder.  We can see that at work right now.  Trying to come to a consensus of something that will help and benefit all citizens is very hard and often seems to not be important.  I just wish that more would listen to each other to learn and see another side of issues.

My hope and prayer is that those in Congress can find a way to work together and to work with the President to do what is truly best for all citizens.  I am not sure how that is possible, but I am hopeful that it can and will happen.  And, there are elections coming up again where we can vote and have our voices heard.

As I have mentioned before in other blogs, I have never liked being told what to think, what to believe or how to live my life.  So, I will continue to ask questions, pray earnestly and continuously, and search for answers.  In other words, I will not be ignorant.  How about you?

