Hello January!

Playground.2Hello and welcome to January.  I cannot believe that we are now 18 days into the new year.  My that time has flown. Hope you are having a great week.  Mine has been pretty good but our unseasonably warm weather is wreaking havoc on my allergies and sinuses.

I have missed writing and hope to be back to it soon on a more regular basis.  The holidays were a whirlwind and I enjoyed down time and family time.  Now that school is back in session, we are busy again.  We are back to the routine of busy mornings, homework, and all of the rest.

I haven’t been inspired this week to write and that is frustrating.  I have many things and people on my mind and am stressed.  Sadly when I get stressed, my body and my stomach are affected.  So, I am trying to do things to help with my stress — watching what I eat today, relax and do some fun things, take a walk later today, do some coloring and a word find, and perhaps I will start meditation.  That would certainly help.

Life is pretty good but every once in a while I think about loved ones who have passed away, loved ones who are now suffering with loss, pain or health issues, loss of jobs, loss of homes and community, and so much more.  I am having one of those days today.  I will do my best, may have a cry, listen to some music, and try to focus on all of the positives.  And, I may go to bed early and hope for a better day tomorrow.

I have a book entitled, The Daily Writer.  Today’s writing is on The Art of Concentration. How is that for irony?  Concentrating on writing has been a challenge in recent weeks as I have mentioned. I hope to be able to concentrate again soon and find new topics that inspire me. I certainly didn’t mean to start on such a downer for my first writing of this new year.  But, it always helps me work through it when I write about it and what I am thinking.

Here are a few quotes about and from the amazing Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., whose life we celebrated on Monday.  He is an inspiration in how he lived his life, fighting for what he believed in, his speeches and his writings.

  • “Each time a man stands up for an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes out against injustice, he sends forth a tiny ripple of hope… and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring those ripples build a current that can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance.” ~ “Robert F. Kennedy
  • The time is always right to do what is right.”  ~ Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • “Everybody can be great.  Because anybody can serve.  You don’t have to have a college degree to serve.  You don’t have to make your subject and your verb agree to serve…. You don’t have to know the second theory of thermodynamics in physics to serve.  You only need a heart full of grace.  A soul generated by love.”  ~ Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • “One day our descendants will think it incredible that we paid so much attention to things like the amount of melanin in our skin or the shape of our eyes or our gender instead of the unique identities of each of us as complex human beings.”  ~ Franklin Thomas
  • “How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.”  ~ Anne Frank
  • “Act as if what you do makes a difference.  It does.”  ~ William James
  • “Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”  ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

May we remember it is okay to have some down days.  May we live each day with kindness, empathy and peace.  May we learn from others different than ourselves and respect each other.  May we fight for what we believe without harm to others.  And, may we remember to always, always love.

Leave a Reply

