Have You Voted?

Voting0003Today is Tuesday, November 8, 2016 — Election Day!  Finally!  After an ugly campaign season of more than a year, it is finally time to vote.

Have you voted?  I hope that you have or that you do today.  It is important to make our voices known and be involved.  As I heard on a show yesterday, people have fought and died for this right.

I voted early and am glad that I did. The line wasn’t long and I had a feeling that today it would be.  Ian went with us and was intrigued by the entire process.  He helped me push the button when I cast my ballot.

This morning, he set up a voting booth for his stuffed animals.  Several of them have cast their ballots.  Others will throughout the day.  I have to say that I loved seeing that!  He seems to understand the importance of voting and I hope that will be something that lasts his entire life.

It is interesting to think that in his life, he has only known President Obama as the President.  That is a unique perspective, isn’t it?  I wonder who will be the next President?  I just hope and pray tonight that the winner will win graciously, the loser will be gracious as well, and that we as a country can move on and heal.

Compromise and understanding what the opposition thinks aren’t bad things.  To me, the only way to move forward is to learn from one another, work together, and put the good of our country at the forefront.  May we figure out a way to do just that.

Today I am thankful for:

  • Living in a country where I can vote freely and as I choose
  • Women being given the right to vote in 1920
  • That our son is interested in the process
  • Our many freedoms and rights
  • Early voting
  • Our amazing three branches of government
  • Learning from others
  • My 9th Grade Civics Class
  • My diverse family and friends
  • My hubby and son
  • My dad who is one of the many election workers today
  • My mom who is passionate about her views
  • My parents who taught us to learn about issues and think for ourselves
  • My family who taught me to respect others and to be kind
  • My siblings, aunts and uncles, cousins, nieces and nephews
  • My friends who enrich my life

I wonder what the end of tonight will bring?  I just hope and pray that it is peaceful and without violence or hate.  May God Bless America

Leave a Reply

