Almost End of School

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAThis morning, Ian and I discussed the fact that today is the last Monday of Second Grade.  I also mentioned that to his teacher.  Wow, this year has gone by so fast.

It has been a great year and we are now ready for summer and some down time.  The last week we have been dragging each morning, taking a long, long time on homework, and having a hard time focusing. I just hope we can rally for the last few days.

This photo was from the first day of school in fall 2015.  Ian has grown at least an inch since then and has learned and changed so much. He will soon be a rising third grader and should be ready for the new challenges that are ahead for him.  His love of reading has grown by leaps and bounds over the past year.

In fact, this weekend, he started a new book series called Warriors. He read some of it to me and told me about all of the characters.  And, he is nearly halfway through the book already.  He had a hard time putting it down once he started.  He informed me that he is supposed to read for at least 20 minutes per day. That is very doable.

I am thrilled that he loves to read and enjoys it.  He is even inspired with his own story.  He has characters and a plot in mind.  We need to get them all down on paper and move forward from there.  What fun that will be.

We had a great weekend and hope you did as well.  My oldest nephew on my side of the family graduated on Friday night. We went and had a great time. I remember when he was a baby. He has grown into a great young man. I cried happy tears when the caps were tossed at the end of the ceremony.  One of Kirk’s nephews and one his nieces are also graduating this year.  Amazing!

Saturday was Ian’s last pack meeting for Cub Scouts for the year.  He earned a few more belt loops, got to fly a kite, see his friends and the older boys, and enjoy sherbet on a cone. We then went to the library to check out new summer books, played on the playground, and asked about the summer reading program.

Sunday was a lazy day at home in our pajamas.  We normally go to church and have a big lunch, but decided to just rest.  It was great.  We had time to read, finish most of Ian’s homework, and relax.  We ate together and chatted about his story and many other things.  It was just what we needed for late May.

Today I am thankful for:

  • Being there to see my nephew graduate
  • Time with my family and friends
  • Watching Ian fly a kite with my dad
  • Sherbet melting down our arms
  • Feet in the grass
  • A windy and lovely day
  • Time with my aunt and other family members
  • Messy hair and early morning conversations
  • A day in my pjs
  • The start of a new book
  • Ian loving to read as much as I do
  • Friends with birthdays
  • Ideas for Ian’s story
  • Hugs and cuddles

I wonder what this week will bring?  I am not sure but know that it will be good and that we will make the most of it.  We will enjoy the end of our school year and then SUMMER!!  YEAH. Hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

