April 27 — Messy

Messy_4-27-2016Today’s photo challenge is Messy.  I think this picture shows it very well. This was taken about 6 years ago after Ian had enjoyed a messy dinner and then some chocolate cake.  And then he was done for the night, after that sugar high wore off.

Those were the days of high chair messes, and bibs, and clothes that had to be cleaned after each meal. He had fun finger painting with the remnants of this cake. He also really liked the taste of it. Amazing so much time has flown by since this photo was taken.

These days he isn’t messy with his meals, except for spaghetti at times can be difficult.  He now really doesn’t like things on this hands and tries to be neat. Well, as neat as an active and busy boy can be.

Not only have our meals been messy at times, our house is often messy.  I keep working on my piles of stuff but often don’t get to them as quickly as my hubby would like. Laundry is a never-ending project and the car needs to be washed.  Also, the toy room floor is covered with Lego elements in various states of progress.

Life is also messy.  Relationships can be messy at times and the way we often treat each other is messy. We aren’t perfect and do the best we can. I make mistakes, I spill food and liquids both on my clothes and the floor, I am too loud at times, and I run into things. I am messy and fine with admitting it.

I have come to terms with that fact and love that my hubby can put up with my interest piles, my less than stellar cleaning, and meals made with love and many dishes. I am not the slob that I once was but still have some work to do.  A few of my college roommates can attest to that. I am blessed with a hubby who helps around the house.

Today I am thankful for:

  • Messy early morning hair
  • Piles of Ian’s school work and drawings
  • The mess of baking cookies
  • A washer and dryer that are used most days of the week
  • Boxes and boxes of family photos to be scanned
  • Laughs with long-time friends
  • A movie date with my hubby
  • Ian’s creativity with all of his Lego builds
  • Lunches with family and friends
  • Midweek dinners with my parents
  • My amazing and understanding husband
  • My messy yet wonderful life

I wonder if I will always be messy?  I have a feeling that I will, although not as bad as Pig Pen.  I am a continuing work in progress and am trying to be more neat and tidy. What about you?  Are you messy or neat?

Leave a Reply

