Be Sure To Vote!

Voting0003For many states in the country, today, March 1st is Super Tuesday.  My state is one of those.

I voted this morning at my son’s school and am glad that I did.  In this roller coaster of an election year, it is so very important for each citizen who has registered to vote to show up and cast a ballot.

I won’t share how I voted, but I do encourage you to vote.  Not what you think someone else wants you to do or who you think you should vote for, but what you have truly decided for yourself.

Before voting I talked with a boy in Ian’s class.  He mentioned that his grandmother was voting today and I said I was too.  He said he didn’t think it mattered if people voted and he wasn’t sure if he would when he was older.  I told him that I hope that he does vote when he is old enough.  I also said that each vote does matter.

Contrary to what the polls say, anyone can win an election primary.  Each person should vote and have his or her voice heard.  If not, the person or persons we don’t like could be elected.  They could even if we do vote so we may as well have a say and be part of the decision.  After all, decisions are made by those who show up.

My prayer is that we as a nation will vote for someone who can move us forward and help us realize that America will continue being as great as it always is.  My prayer is also that we vote for someone who is not a bully and respects others.

And, I hope that whoever is eventually elected will realize that he or she will be the President of all Americans, not just those they agree with or like.  I also hope that those elected to Congress will be more willing to work with the new President than they have with President Obama.  Setting out to help the elected official fail is something that I hope and pray that we will not see again.

If President Ronald Reagan and Tip O’Neil could figure out a way to work together, why can’t those across the aisle today do the same?  After all, we are first and foremost Americans.

Leave a Reply

