Happy Early Birthday To Dad!

Patti.Dad_10-23-2015Tomorrow is my dad’s birthday as well as my wedding anniversary. So, I decided to post my birthday wishes for him today.

This is one of my favorite photos of the two of us from my wedding to Kirk. We were about to walk down the aisle. I love how he is looking at me.

On the 23rd of October 1998, we had our wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner.  At the dinner, we served a cake that said “Father of the Bride” in frosting. The cake was delicious and Dad appreciated it very much. Then on Dad’s birthday, he was there as I took my vows and became a married woman. It has always been an honor to share his special day with him. Happy Birthday to you dear Dad! We love you!

I have learned so much from my dad and so appreciate the influence he has been in my life and now Ian’s life. Dad, Kirk and I thank you for that. He loves his family passionately and unconditionally. He is an amazing example of the love of a spouse, a parent, and now a grandparent.

He has always been interested in my thoughts and activities as well as those of my brother and sister. For years I took that for granted. Then a friend of mine from college helped me see how rare it is. I am truly grateful for all that he is. When Dad is with us, he is truly there and listening and engaged in our life.

Some of the things I have learned from my dad are:

  • To work hard
  • That a college education is very important
  • To manage money
  • To make time to play
  • To be sure to say I love you
  • To enjoy ice cream and cookies
  • To take vacations
  • To spend time with family and friends
  • To volunteer for a cause that moves you
  • To play in the floor with children
  • To read, read, read
  • The importance of lifelong friendships
  • To learn about new things
  • To be aware of current events
  • To be true to your word
  • To have faith, honor, and integrity
  • To rest my eyes
  • To be loyal to a team even in the losing seasons
  • To take time to enjoy the little things
  • To enjoy time with a child
  • To stay active
  • To learn new things
  • To get your hands dirty
  • To enjoy the outdoors
  • To have fun with a dog

I love my dad and all that he has done for me and all that he has taught me. He truly is an amazing man.

To you Dad, I love you and always will.  It is my honor to share your birthday with you!  We love you and look forward to your party.

Leave a Reply

