Hi Ian’s Mom

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAThis morning one of Ian’s friends said, “Hi Ian’s Mom” to me in the hallway before school.  He had to speak up since I didn’t see him at first.  I said hello in return and smiled.  We then  each went our separate ways.

This friend was in the same 1st grade class as Ian, but this year is in a different class.  They are in Cub Scouts together so we still see him. That is nice for Ian and for me since I like this young man.

Ian’s Mom is who I am known as at Ian’s school and I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Kids call me that as well as some of the parents.  His friends in his Cub Scout den also call me that.  Other parents, and the teachers and staff know me as Patti and the PTO secretary.

I love being his mom and love him so very much.  I love that he has made friends and continues to do so.  I love that he enjoys going to school.  He is such a sweet boy and so much fun to know and listen to.  Kirk and I are truly blessed to be his parents.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn two days, we will celebrate Ian’s birthday.  He will be 8 years old.  Wow, our sweet baby is really growing up.

The changes that have occurred in his lifetime are just amazing.  He went from crawling, to walking, to running.  From no speech to early words to talking endlessly some days.  He went from thinking he would never learn to read, to reading toddler books, to recently finishing “James and The Giant Peach.”

He now wakes himself up, makes his breakfast, and gets himself ready for school.  He has an alarm set to help him wake up.  So far so good with that.  Next week though is fall break and I told him we won’t be using the alarm clock.  He reluctantly said okay.

Our boy is a young man now.  He is getting very tall and outgrowing clothing and shoes. In the mornings, I often ask him if he has had his growing machine on at night.  He laughs and says, “No Mom.  I am just growing.”

n539281610_366595_2660Before that day 8 years ago, I never knew how much love I had to give.  I didn’t know that I could put someone else’s needs before my own with middle of the night feedings and lack of sleep.  I didn’t realize that someone would be listening and carefully watching all that I do in order to learn for himself.  I didn’t realize that my heart would live outside my body in such a small yet amazing package.

The job of parents is daunting and very hard at times.  After all, our job is to love them, teach them how to behave, to be kind to others, and provide them with discipline.  Then when they are grown, to prepare them for the outside world and eventually say goodbye and leave our home.

It is also the most fulfilling and precious time of my life, of my life with Kirk as co-parents on this journey.  We want the best for our son and do all we can to provide that.  Not only with money and material things, but in special moments and times together, and creating memories.  We listen to him when he talks to us and live in the moment with him.

I teach Ian many things but he continues to teach me each and every day.  From him, I have learned to live in the moment.  I have learned to be truly thankful for each day.  I have learned what love truly is all about.  Ian, I thank you for that and am so proud that you call me Mom.  Your Dad and I love so so very much!

2 thoughts on “Hi Ian’s Mom

  1. Patti (a.k.a Ian’s mom) This post made me tear up…in a good way. What a sweet, sweet post about your son. This mama of a son can so very much relate to your words. What a precious time, and I am so happy to hear you write of living and loving in the moment with your sweet little guy. The moments they pass so quickly……

Leave a Reply

