Five Minute Friday – Learn

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAHi and Happy Friday.  I haven’t written one of these in ages.  I liked today’s word so I thought I’d write for five minutes on Learn.

Starting now…

With today being the end of Ian’s second week of school, it means so much to have a child who loves to learn.  He was ready to start school and enjoys going each day.

I will appreciate and cherish that as long as possible since I know that feeling may not last.  A mom can be hopeful though. Right?

He likes his teachers, his classmates, and especially his school.  He has a T-shirt that he wears regularly with the school name and mascot on it.

This morning, Ian asked me, “Is tomorrow a school day?”  “No Ian,” I told him.  “It is Saturday.”  He wasn’t thrilled but realized that we have a Cub Scout activity in the morning.  That should be fun.

I too enjoy learning and think it is important to do throughout your life.  I was blessed with a good education and am thankful each and every day for that.

We can learn in a classroom certainly, but also in everyday life and on the weekends.  Learning is always possible and we try to talk with Ian about that.

Stop writing.  The time is up.  Wow, that was fast.

Since I haven’t done this in a while, I am not sure where to post these in the Five Minute Friday community.  I will try to find that out for next week.

I did want to add a few quotes about learning that I found after my time was up:

  • “You can teach a student a lesson for a day; but if you can teach him to learn by creating curiosity, he will continue the learning process as long as he lives.” ~ Clay P. Bedford
  • “Get over the idea that only children should spend their time in study. Be a student so long as you still have something to learn, and this will mean all your life.” ~ Henry L. Doherty
  • “I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma.” ~ Eartha Kitt
  • “You learn something every day if you pay attention.” ~ Ray LeBlond
  • “Learning is a treasure that will follow its owner everywhere.” ~ Chinese Proverb
  • “All the world is a laboratory to the inquiring mind.” ~ Martin H. Fischer

I want to thank all of Ian’s teachers, the school staff and administration, our school district and school board for such an awesome school and great curriculum.  We look forward to a great year of 2nd grade.

Thanks also to my teachers.  They taught me so much and I can never thank them enough.  Many of them I remember fondly and am grateful for their love of learning.  I will have to write about a few of them sometime.

I have many family and friends who were and are amazing teachers.  Thanks also to them for helping students and adults to learn.  You and your passion for learning and teaching are so vital and appreciated.

I hope that Ian will always love learning.  I look forward to each day with him on his journey.   His dad and I are in awe of all that he knows and continues to learn.

Leave a Reply

