Day 1 of 2nd Grade

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAToday, Ian started 2nd grade.  I cannot believe it was his first day of a new school year.  He was excited and ready to go.  Of that I am very thankful.

He has a man for his home room / primary teacher this year.  I too had a male teacher in 2nd grade.  He was one of my all-time favorites!  I have a feeling that Ian will like his teacher as much as I liked mine.

Here is my sweet boy from this morning.  He is looking so grown up now and is ready for school to begin.

Thankfully, a few of his friends are in his class again.  In fact, he and two other kids have been in the same classes for all three years.  Also, there are several new kids who he will also get to know.

I think it will be a great year for us and we are excited.  I am serving again as our PTO secretary.  We have several new people who I look forward to working with.  We hope to have a great and busy year with that as well.

This morning we walked together to school and discussed the day.  Then after school, we walked back home.  This afternoon was quite a bit warmer but not too bad.  We had time to chat about his day.

Today, I am thankful for:

  • A wonderful school that Ian loves
  • A short first day
  • Great teachers
  • A wonderful Principal, Vice Principal, and office staff
  • Being able to walk to and from school
  • A boy who loves to learn
  • Friends who we got to see again
  • A quick but fabulous summer
  • Treats after school
  • Listening to a boy explain today’s science fun

I wonder how the rest of our first week will be?  I hope and pray that it will be a good one.  Hope your first day is good as well.

Leave a Reply

