Let The Summer Begin!

Nothing says summer like the ocean and the beach!

Nothing says summer like the ocean and the beach!

Although the calendar doesn’t say it is summer yet, we are starting our summer today.  Ian’s last day of school was yesterday, so let the summer begin!  Have you started your summer?

As I picked him up for one last walk home, one of the teachers said school starts back the first week of August.  Sheesh, we are just starting the summer break and we get reminded of when we start again.  I am ready to enjoy some down time and less structured days.

So we have approximately nine weeks of summer.  We plan to enjoy each and every one of those weeks!  We will then be ready for 2nd grade.  It seems that summers were longer when I was in school.  Then again, we didn’t have a week or two of fall break either.

This morning I had hoped to sleep in.  However, as anyone with young kids knows, that is a hard wish to have come true.  At 7:15 a.m., I heard, “Mom, are you ready to get up?”  “No Ian, not yet,” I responded and then tried to go back to sleep.

Then at 7:30 a.m., “Mom, are you getting up now?”  “No! I don’t want to get up this early. Why don’t you go play?,” I asked, trying not to be annoyed.  And off he went.

Next time I looked at the clock it was 8:15 a.m.  I woke up and was thankful that he was happy to play by himself during those 45 minutes.  I feel blessed and well rested.  I finally got out of bed at 8:30 a.m.

Funny that before being married and having kids I could sleep until almost noon, if I had been out late the night before.  Now, 8 a.m. is sleeping in.  Amazing how life changes, isn’t it?!  We had a lazy few hours after waking up.

Then we ate breakfast at 10 a.m. and have been busy ever since.  We have been doing laundry, some work for the family business, reading, and watching some TV.  Ian has been busy with Lego builds, reading his library books, and now is on the computer.

And, he has been telling me a lot about Mine craft and different Lego themes.  He knows a lot and has much to say.  It is fun hearing about things he is interested in.

Today we will more than likely stay in our pajamas, which I enjoy doing every once in a while. So, our first day of summer is exactly what I wanted — lazy and time to do various things at home.

This summer we will have more lazy days, take a few trips to North Carolina and one trip to California, swim, eat ice cream, take walks and bike rides, celebrate birthdays and anniversaries, work, read books, have lots of play time, and enjoy lots of other things.

I wonder what fun our summer will bring?  I can’t wait to find out.  Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

