Path To Willie’s Cabin

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAHi and happy Thursday.  For today’s Throwback Thursday, I decided to post a photo from years ago of Ian walking on the pathway to Willie’s Cabin.

Well, at least this was the place that my grandfather told us that our elf friend Willie lived.  He was the character trying to figure out where rainbows come from.  On his quest, Willie always got into trouble and needed his friends to help him get back home again.

Grandpa would end the stories with Willie arriving back home and pulling candy canes off the trees to give to the children.  Then as they drove away, he would scratch his head and say, “I Still Wonder Where Rainbows Come From.”

I so loved his story telling ability.  He was amazing with the words he used, the visual pictures, the inflections in his voice, and his love of this character.  I felt honored and still do to have known Willie.  Thanks Grandpa for this amazing gift.

My mother and her siblings went to a cabin near this location many years while growing up.  They, their parents (my grandparents, and other friends and family enjoyed spending time there.  It was a favorite activity of the family and we have always heard stories about it.  The property is now a federal park and is still well-preserved.  The memories linger and we visit when we can.

On this particular day when we went walking, Ian wanted to find Willie’s cabin.  Knowing there probably was no such thing, we were stunned to actually find a small cabin.  I cried happy tears at the gift again from Grandpa.  Ian was thrilled beyond belief.  You see, he loves the Willie stories as much as I do, and was so excited to see where he lived.

To my parents, aunts and uncles, siblings, cousins, and the next generation, I am honored to have listened to these stories with all of you and to have shared all that we have.  Love to you all.  Grandpa (and Grandma), you are loved and truly missed.  Your stories will live on.

I too wonder as Willie does about so many things and am on a quest to learn more.  And I am thankful for those who help me along the way.

Leave a Reply

