Throwback Thursday – Reading

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Hi and Happy Thursday!  For today’s Throwback Thursday, I wanted to post a photo of Ian reading a book.  Well, at the age he is in this picture, he was looking at it or doing pre-reading.

He has always loved books and still does.  His 1st grade class at school is working on 20 hours of reading in honor of Dr. Seuss’s birthday.  Each hour that Ian reads means he can color in The Cat in The Hat’s Hat on a piece of paper.  So, we are on our way!

I remember when he was first learning to read that he was nervous that he’d never get it.  He worked hard and consistently and now LOVES reading.  In fact, his favorite place to go is our city’s public library.  How great is that?

We read to him when he was a baby, toddler, preschooler, and then he learned to read. We still read to him but enjoy the fact that he can read to us.  One of my favorite things to do is sit with him and listen to him read a book.

I am so very thankful that he enjoys reading as much as I do.  Books have always been part of his life and our home.  My prayer is that all children can learn to read and learn to love it.  I also hope that all adults can read as well.   Literacy is so very important!

I wonder what he will next be reading?  I cannot wait to find out!!!

Leave a Reply

