The Blessing of a New Year!

champagne.glassesHappy New Year to you and yours!  It is a blessing for a new year to begin. Cheers to you!

Last night, Ian stayed up until nearly 11 p.m.  He wanted to stay up all night.  He almost made it, but not quite.  When the ball dropped in Times Square, we couldn’t wake him up.  He was carried up to bed and didn’t stir until the morning.

When he woke up at 8 a.m. this morning, he asked me, “Why didn’t you wake me up Mom?”  I told him, “We tried Ian, but you just didn’t want to wake up.”  “Okay.”

My parents came over last night and the five of us had a really nice time together.  It was fun to stay in, watch TV, talk, eat a few yummy treats, and enjoy the end of the year together.  We laughed and had fun.  Ian really enjoyed himself, as we all did.

I was awake until 1 a.m. so needless to say, I am tired today and have a headache.  So, a lazy day has been in order for today and it has been perfect.  The tradition of watching the Tournament of Roses Parade in pajamas lives on!

It is amazing that it now is the year 2015.  The days between Christmas Eve and today flew by.  We enjoyed most of them, but were also sick a few days so that kind of put a damper on things.  And, very soon, school will start again as well as the normal work schedule.

Routine is great, don’t get me wrong.  But, so is all of this time together to talk, watch sports and movies and old shows on television, play games, and have no set schedule.  I enjoy the simple and little things and have loved all of this time during Ian’s Christmas break.  He has truly enjoyed all things about this holiday season and it has been wonderful.

I am thankful for the beginning of a new year and the ending of one that was mostly good.  We lost a few loved ones, but new family members were also born.  So, life has truly gone on and will continue to do so.

Brad Paisley has a great quote that I feel is just right for today,  I saw it on New Year’s Eve. “Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365 page book.  Write a good one.”  I plan to make the most of each day this year.

I plan to live, love, laugh, and learn, among many other things. How about you? I also want time to stop and smell the roses, so to speak and to continue to live in each moment. Children are great for that!

I wonder if I will remember to do all of those things as much as possible?  I sure plan to do my best!!  Hope you will too! Have a very Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

