The Blessing of My Brother

SRP.33.Patti_Richmond.1990Today is my brother Richmond’s birthday.  Happy Birthday to you Dear Richmond!!!  I love you and am so proud of you.  You truly are a blessing to me. (Here we are in our matching tans and hairdos in the early 1990s.)

Today we had planned to celebrate with you and I was so bummed that we couldn’t.  Being sick with bronchitis certainly put a damper on those plans.  We are, however, with you in spirit.  And hope to see you again soon.

3 kidsMy brother always makes me laugh, and he makes me smile.  He is fun to watch movies with, like “Clue” or TV shows like “Psych.”  He can quote from both of these almost verbatim.

He also is smart, a great husband and father, and a hard worker.  He works at a really nice men’s clothing store and is a terrific salesman.  He is in charge of the windows and displays.  He has a great eye for style and color.

Richmond is a great singer, likes sushi, pasta, good wine, iced sweet tea, movies, football games, comedies on television, well-made dramas, and Padres baseball.  And many other things as well.

We have had fun camping, shopping, riding in the car together, strolling at the beach, eating yummy meals together, watching our kids play, eating pizza at our town’s best pizzeria, and singing with the family. I have so many fond memories of Richmond and our sister Cindy.  We are pictured above (left to right: Cindy, Richmond, and me).

I am five years older than Richmond.  As kids, we didn’t always get along and had the usual sibling rivalry.  I love, however, that when we became adults, we decided to let that sibling stuff go.  Now we are great friends and love to be together.  We have inside jokes and funny stories.  Indeed, our relationship is a blessing.

Richmond, have a blast at your party tonight!  I will be thinking of you and smiling.  Love you and hope to see you really soon.

2 thoughts on “The Blessing of My Brother

    • Thanks so much for your comment! Richmond is a great brother, that’s for sure. I agree that it is wonderful to love one’s sibling. I love both of mine and their spouses. I am richly blessed. Patti

Leave a Reply

