The Blessing of Sleep

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHi and Happy Throwback Thursday!  Today’s photo is of Ian asleep with his Clifford the Big Red Dog.  He was a baby and slept so soundly when he finally fell asleep.

Today I wanted to write about the blessing of sleep.  A good night’s sleep is a real blessing and sometimes hard to come by.  You don’t realize how important it is until you don’t have it. Trying to function on little sleep and rest can be a real challenge.

I remember many nights when Ian was a baby that I got very little sleep.  I had that new mommy fog of sleep deprivation.  Now, he sleeps fine — most nights.  But, I still have trouble sometimes.

Last night, I was awake at 5 a.m. after going to bed at 11 p.m.  I had too much on my mind.  I am concerned about some friends and family who are dealing with sickness, major illnesses, and other traumatic events.  I was awake thinking of them and stopped to pray.  That helped calm me down.  Nearly 45 minutes later, I was back asleep. But then by 6:20 a.m., the alarm was going off. Arg, not nearly enough sleep for me.

I am also losing sleep since there is still much to do between now and Christmas.  But, I have to take it a day at a time and have Ian and Kirk help me.  I know that they can.  We have everything purchased and home.  Now we just have to finish the cards and mail them, finish making and baking a few things, and wrap the gifts.

This time of year is fun but can also be overwhelming.  I am hoping and praying that I get plenty of time to rest and get enough sleep.  I will certainly do my best.  Hope you can as well.

Today I am tired and probably will be all day.  Thankfully, Ian just has one more day of school before Christmas break!  Then we’ll have a few weeks off.  That will be nice.  Since I work at home, I can do my work and have time to rest and have fun.

Here are a few quotes about sleep:

  • “If you can’t sleep, then get up and do something instead of lying there worrying. It’s the worry that gets you, not the lack of sleep.” ~ Dale Carnegie
  • “No day is so bad it can’t be fixed with a nap.” ~ Carrie Snow
  • “People who say they sleep like a baby usually don’t have one.” ~ Leo J. Burke
  • “A ruffled mind makes a restless pillow.” ~ Charlotte Brontë
  • “A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures in the doctor’s book.” ~ Irish Proverb

I wonder if I will be able to have a good night’s sleep tonight?  I sure hope so since I do need it.

Leave a Reply

