The Blessing of Play Time

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYesterday, I saw a commercial that bugged me.  It was of a toddler holding a cell phone right before a ride in the car.  The child’s mother is setting the phone so it is safe for this kid to use. This is after he almost sent out an old photo of his mother to her entire company.

My first thought is why is a child that age holding his mother’s real and very expensive phone and how did he get access to her e-mail?  My next thought was, why does a child need to be entertained like that in the car?

Whatever happened to looking out the window at the world around us?  Or talking to others in the car? Or listening to music or talk radio? Or just sitting still for a little while? Or playing games of looking for letters and numbers? Or looking for different license plates?  Ian can’t use devices or read in the car since he occasionally gets car sick. (He gets that from me unfortunately.)

This commercial also made me wonder if a child who needs a device of some kind in the car, what does he or she need at home?  Would he or she always have to be entertained?  Would this child know how to play?

One of my favorite things in the world is to see Ian play and entertain himself.  He can play for hours and have a great time.  Perhaps that is unusual, I don’t know.  But it is a beautiful thing to see and a blessing.  (December will be a month of blessings in my postings.  Hope you will enjoy. Now back to the blog.)

He is creative and has a great imagination.  He creates scenarios and activities for his Lego figures, or his stuffed animals, or his toy soldiers.  I love to watch him and to listen.  I listen to his toys talking to each other in different voices and inflections.  This also entertains me as well.

Kirk and I have made a point to be sure that he has regular play time and for that I am very thankful.  Children need to play.  For that matter, so do adults.  We also try to have some down time or play time for us.  Sometimes we all just hang out at home, read, talk, play games, or watch movies.  These are times that I definitely cherish.

My father taught me that work is very important.  But he also taught the importance of vacation, down time or play time, and time to relax.  He was one who has always loved to relax and play.  He is good at it and my siblings and I have followed in his footsteps.  Thanks Dad for that lesson!

Today I am thankful for:

  • Sitting on the floor and playing with Ian
  • Listening to Ian explain his Lego creations
  • Vacations with family
  • Christmas movies
  • Hot chocolate and popcorn
  • Making cookies and cakes with Kirk and Ian
  • Upcoming Christmas break
  • Playing board games with Ian and Kirk
  • Walking on the beach with my dad and family

December is a month of preparation and staying very busy.  I just hope that with all of the activities, appointments, and commitments that we can take time for play and to relax.

2 thoughts on “The Blessing of Play Time

Leave a Reply

