Time For Changes

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAHi and Happy Monday!  It is time for some major changes in my life.  I mean weight loss changes, and improving my health. I am so over the size that I am, so I have to change.

I have to change what and how much I eat, and I have to change my exercise or lack thereof.  Time to eat better, time to exercise, and time to stop making excuses.

In recent pictures of myself, I don’t like how I look. “Where did that double chin come from?” I asked myself.  And, “how did I get to be this size?” Or “Is it my clothes that make me look fat?” Sadly no, it’s not the clothes.  So, it is the time I realized that and moved on with weight loss 2.0.

I can no longer deny that something needs to be done.  But isn’t it funny that we make excuses to ourselves until we are truly ready to make the changes that are necessary in our lives?  I have been making them for a while.  In order to get better, I have to stop that. Starting today.

Several times in my life I have had to work hard to lose weight.  I am not a person who can do it easily and that in itself is frustrating.  I am on several medications for health issues and would like to stop taking those. My doctor has told me that losing weight will help. He also said that exercise is important, but it boils down to what you put in your mouth.

I have a great appetite and love to eat.  Sometimes I just eat entirely too much food.  My cousin gave me a great idea of using smaller plates and that if the food isn’t in the house, it won’t be a temptation.  She is right.

Before getting pregnant with Ian, I was very successful with losing weight and then maintained it for quite a while.  I was careful with my salt intake and exercised every day.  Knowing that I have had success in the past is very helpful and something I will pat myself on the back about.  And I can draw on that for strength.

My cousin also said it is in your mind.  If I determine and decide to do this, I can.  I have to take care of myself and realize that my health is important.  So, I will schedule exercise time on my calendar and plan the meals carefully. Even though these seem like little things, they are big and very important to maintaining a healthy lifestyle.  That is the key – not to think of this as a diet but my new lifestyle.

Here is an interesting quote on losing weight: Elizabeth Berg said, “Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels.”  I am not quite there since I truly love food.  And, I still want to have some treats so I am not feeling deprived.  I just have to figure out healthier ways to eat those favorite items.  And, each day, I need to be active and exercise.

I am fortunate that my hubby and other family members love me no matter what size I am.  And, my son thinks I am beautiful, which means the world to me.  And, they all want me to be healthy, so here’s to the journey.  I will keep you posted on how things are going.

Any ideas or words of encouragement would be greatly appreciated!  And, if you are on this journey, I’d love to hear from you so I can support you too. After all, we are in this together!

4 thoughts on “Time For Changes

  1. Patti, I am right there with you! You can do this!!!! My “moment of resolve” was back in the beginning of July. A friend told me about Trim Healthy Mama. (look them up on Facebook or their website) I had already started going gluten free (gluten was making me sick–connection between that and my autoimmune thyroid disease) but THM has helped me change how I view food, and has gotten me healthier. I’ve lost 25 lbs so far, and my BP has gone down. I no longer feel bloated and sick. I am telling everyone I know about Trim Healthy Mama…it has helped so many people on their journey to good health. Love you, friend!

    • Hi Dawn, I know that you have been with me! Congrats on your changes and your weight loss. That is fantastic! I will definitely look at that web site. I appreciate you and love you too! Patti

Leave a Reply

