Throwback Thursday – Toes In the Sand

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHi and Happy Thursday!  For today’s Throwback Thursday, I decided to post a photo of Ian taken in 2009.  We were at a great shelling beach in Fort Pierce, Florida. He was 2-years-old at the time and always with his paci (pacifier).

I love the sand on his hands and feet and that he is so carefully and intently studying the stick. I also love the look of wind blowing through his sun-kissed hair. It is hard believe that this picture was taken 5 years ago.  My how time flies.  My short and sassy two-year-old now is almost 7-years-old.  Now he is just under 4 feet 1 inch tall.

The notion of time flying is especially true knowing that my best friend from college has a son who is leaving for college this week. She wrote a lovely blog about him, which absolutely made me cry – both sad and happy tears.  I have a feeling that it will touch you as well.  The link is http://gibsongirl247.wordpress.com/2014/08/27/good-byes-are-hard-they-just-are.

I remember meeting Dawn in college during our freshman year.  All four years, we were in the same dorm, just changed floors a few times. We even roomed together during our senior year.  That first year, we clicked right away and have remained friends ever since.

We have been through good and bad together and we’ve had some very funny times and some very sad.  She is someone who I have a very long memory of and love dearly.  To have a friendship like we do is very rare and I am so very thankful for it and for her.

And, now her son is going off to college.  I remember the year he was born and seeing the two of them at the hospital, along with her hubby.  I remember when her son was the age Ian is in the above picture, and at 7-years-old. And, so quickly he grew up into an amazing young man.  Now he is leaving for his own college adventures.

I hope that he has as much fun in college as we had.  And, I hope that he learns as much as we did and that he makes some life-long friends.

There is a song that states how I am feeling this week, “Time keeps on slipping into the future.”  It goes go by so fast.

I wonder if I will remember to savor each and every moment? I plan to since before long, Ian will be off to college. For now, I will enjoy our adventure as he enjoys 1st grade.

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Toes In the Sand

Leave a Reply

