Two Late Anniversaries!

R2_Aug.6_19thAnniv.2Hi and Happy Friday.  I am a little bit late with the anniversary wishes to my sister and her husband and my brother and his wife.

On Wednesday, August 6, my brother and his lovely bride celebrated 20 years of marriage!  Yeah and congrats to the two of you – Richmond and Beckie!  They are in the top photo on their wedding day.

On Thursday, August 7, my sister and her husband celebrated 21 years of marriage.  Yeah to them too!  Congratulations to you Cindy and Cody.  Their photo is the second one.

I had the privilege of being in Richmond and Beckie’s wedding as one of the bridesmaids.  It was a lot of fun and our dresses were lovely — deep purple with white lace and lovely jewelry as the accent.  Now they are the parents to two great kids – Isaac and Rachel.

C2_Aug.7_20th.Anniv.1In Cindy and Cody’s wedding, I was the maid of honor and that was a lot of fun.  What an honor and a lovely service.  I liked these dresses too — green and cream and we carried daisies.  They have two kids as well — Gussie and Aiden.

I love the eight of them dearly.  I have learned so much about parenting from both of these amazing couples.  And, I learned how to be an aunt who spoils the kids from these four amazing cousins of Ian’s.  Love and hugs to all of you!

I am thrilled for all of them and these amazing milestones in marriage!  We actually come from a long line of marriages.  My parents have been married for 49 years, my in-laws have been married for nearly 54 years, my mother’s parents were married for 66 years, and my mother’s grandparents were married for 70+ years.

Isn’t that amazing?  I love knowing that there are people in the world who truly stay together until death do them part.   My grandparents and great-grandparents did just that.  And next summer we will celebrate my parent’s 50th anniversary.

Kirk and I got married 5 years after my sister so we will celebrate 16 years this fall.  We will catch up with the rest of them one of these days.

A few quotes about anniversaries:

  • “Our wedding was many years ago.  The celebration continues to this day.”  ~ Gene Perret
  • “The bonds of matrimony are like any other bonds – they mature slowly.” ~ Peter De Vries
  • “Love is a symbol of eternity.  It wipes out all sense of time, destroying all memory of a beginning and all fear of an end.”  ~ Author Unknown
  • “Love is not singular except in syllable.” ~ Marvin Taylor
  • “True love stories never have endings.”  ~ Richard Bach

I grew up with one brother and one sister, and was thrilled in the mid-1990s to gain another brother and then another sister.  And, wonderful nieces and nephews were later added to the mix.

Happy 20th to Richmond and Beckie!   Happy 21st to Cindy and Cody!  Long may you love one another!

2 thoughts on “Two Late Anniversaries!

Leave a Reply

