Throwback Thursday – Piano

Patti.piano.Happy Thursday!  For today’s Throwback Thursday, I decided to go way, way back.  This is a picture of me as a little girl trying to play the piano at my grandparent’s house.

At the time I had no idea how to read music, but I seem to enjoy the challenge. I am not even sure what piece of music this is.   As I got older I took piano lessons but never practiced enough.  My piano teacher used to fuss at me, “You need to practice more.”

Now, my husband and I have a piano and although I still love to play, I still don’t practice nearly enough.  This is something I need to work on.  Any suggestions?

I know a few people who are amazing pianists.  My aunt can play almost anything from memory.  She was always the one who played my favorite songs during our family singalongs.  My sister-in-law and her mother all also very good as are my niece and nephew.  They have all learned well and practice regularly. I also have a cousin who is an amazing pianist and singer.  She has written several songs and my favorites are the ones with her singing as she plays the piano.

And, there are artists/musicians who I like very much who are very good on the piano — like Jim Brickman, Elton John, Paul McCartney, Billy Joel, John Legend, Norah Jones, Michael Feinstein, Bruno Mars, Christina Perri, Sara Bareilles, Josh Groban, Diana Krall, Lady Gaga, Alicia Keys, Jerry Lee Lewis, and Ray Charles.  Who would you add to this list?

My goal for the month of August is to practice more and to learn a new song.  I enjoy it very much and it is relaxing.  Just have to add it to my schedule.

I wonder what will be the next song I will learn?  I think “How Great Thou Art” will be my choice.  I have worked on it before and look forward to doing so again!!  I will keep you posted on my progress.

Leave a Reply

