I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream For Ice Cream!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA July is National Ice Cream Month.  I just found this out and had to write about it.

According to a  Web site, “In 1984, President Ronald Reagan designated July as National Ice Cream Month and the third Sunday of the month as National Ice Cream Day.

“He recognized ice cream as a fun and nutritious food that is enjoyed by a full 90 percent of the nation’s population. In the proclamation, President Reagan called for all people of the United States to observe these events with ‘appropriate ceremonies and activities.'”

Isn’t that cool?  (Pun intended)  I had forgotten that he made this designation.  I just wonder what events we should do to celebrate?

I don’t know about you but I love ice cream.  My favorite flavor is chocolate mint (aka mint chocolate chip).  That is second only to chocolate chip.

I also like vanilla ice cream with fresh strawberries. Those are my favorites.  I like my ice cream in a bowl, but prefer it on a cone.  What is your favorite and how do you like it?

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAHere are a few photos of Ian from two years ago when we were at the beach.  The one in the brown shirt makes me think that he didn’t want to interrupted from his ice cream for a photo.  He seems to be saying, “Come on Mom!!! My ice cream cone is dripping.”

Many nights when we were there, we purchased treats from the ice cream truck – or my parents did.  That summer we bought so much that the ice cream man gave Ian a freebie — the green and dripping face. Ian was thrilled and I was pleasantly surprised.  What a nice thing for him to do.

I am going to mark my calendar on July 20 for National Ice Cream Day.   Cones, check.  Ice cream scoop. Check. Large carton of mint chocolate chip as well as peanut butter and chocolate (which Kirk prefers). Still need to purchase. So better get on this, check.

I just wonder what special “appropriate activities” we should do?  Perhaps a build-your-own sundae?  Or some large cones? I can’t wait to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

