Monday Musings

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAHi and Happy Monday.  Happy Cinco de Mayo!  And, yesterday was Stars Wars day when a lot of people said, “May the 4th Be With You.”

On this Monday, I have some rambling musings/thoughts of items on my mind or that have touched me in recent days.

My heart goes out to people struggling.  First of all, the news that two weeks ago, more than 200 girls were kidnapped to be sold is heartbreaking.  I can’t even imagine what they and their families are feeling.  I hope things can be done very soon to bring them back.

The fact that certain people have no regard for others is appalling and amazing to me.  Life is so precious and our young children so very special, I honestly cannot fathom treating girls or boys like this.  And, the sad fact is that this treatment is far more common than we’d like to think.

May those with voices do something about it to inspire action and change and realization that all life is to be respected and honored. My heart and prayers go out to these girls and their families.

I am also praying for one relative and one friend who are undergoing chemo treatments.  They both have wonderful outlooks and are positive that they will get better.  I know they have rough days and times of intense pain and discomfort, but they also have many great and fun days too.  Love to both of them.  They inspire me so very much.

On Good Morning America this morning, they had their annual Breakfast in Bed tribute to two mothers.  One is a NICU nurse and the other works for the show and had daughters who this nurse took care of.  My applause for this nurse and others like her who take care of our smallest babies.  The story of both women was very well done and showed they are friends.

I couldn’t help but think of when Ian was in the NICU the first four days of his life.  He wasn’t a preemie but had to be there for breathing issues and problems with sucking.  He was treated well and the staff was wonderful with him.  It was such a blessing to bring him home.

And, finally I recently heard an amazing quote on the news from someone who was terminally ill.  It is very inspiring and brought me to tears.  It said that each day when this person woke up, she chose to be happy.  Knowing that you don’t have long to live and having that attitude is so amazing to me.  When I am having a rough day, I will try to keep this in mind.

Today I am thankful for:

  • Freedom and being free
  • Waking up each morning and hugging my family
  • A child who is safe
  • Friends and family members who inspire me
  • Love and forgiveness
  • Being able to pray in times of need

I almost forgot to mention.  This photo was taken during our field study to the zoo.  It was a lovely morning and a fun day.

I wonder what new things will inspire me or touch me.  I look forward to finding out.

Leave a Reply

