What The?

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA“What The?” This is Ian’s new catch phrase for when he isn’t sure what to think about something.  Or when something shocks or surprises him.

I love that he came up with his own words.  His expression when he says it is absolutely priceless.  “What The?” I always say back to him, “What The, What The?”  His reply is “No Mommy, it’s What The?”

“What The?” also applies to the fact that Ian is almost finished with kindergarten.  Tomorrow starts the last month.  How is that possible?

Before he started kindergarten, I had a hard time adjusting to him being away from home all day.  But, during the year, he has learned to love going to school and I have enjoyed having some time to myself.

This school year has been a great experience for both of us.  He has learned to read, write, add and work with numbers.  I have been able to shop by myself at stores, eat lunch with no interruptions, and have time to write on the computer.  Kirk has also enjoyed the year and seeing Ian learn and grow.

We have loved his school and I have enjoyed being active in the PTO.  I joined the first month and have been serving as the secretary.  I have met some great people and made some new friends.  We are truly part of our school family.

This last month includes a lot of fun stuff — a field study (formerly called field trip), walk-a-thon, spring fling, field day, a kindergarten concert, and then the last day of school.  It will be a whirlwind and will fly be.  And, then he will be a rising 1st grader.  WOW!!

This photo was taken at the beach several years ago.  He looks like he could be saying “What the heck is this wet stuff in the bucket Mommy?”  “Wet sand, which is great to play with,” is my reply.  This makes me think of the summer and the fun we will have with Ian.

I wonder what other things Ian will say “What The?” in response to?  I cannot wait to find out.

Leave a Reply

