Saturday Bliss

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA“Mommy, is it morning time?” Ian asked me this morning – at 8 a.m.  Yeah!  We slept in today!  We woke up rested and ready for our day to start.  That is partly due to the fact that I had closed the doors to our rooms to block out light from outside.  Sneaky, perhaps, but it worked.

Normally, Ian is up with the sunrise or earlier.  To a certain extent, he is a morning person, which works very well on school days, but not so much on the weekend. Often we are up on Saturday mornings like any other day, but thankfully, not this morning.  My little scheme worked!

As he was waking up this morning, he asked, “Mommy, what day is it today? Can I stay home today?”  “It’s Saturday Ian,” I said, “You get to stay home today.”  A very big grin then appeared on his face.

Don’t get me wrong, he loves school and the routine we have developed.  But, he like Kirk and me, enjoys time off and time to rest, and to be at home.  Thus, our Saturday Bliss. (This photo was taken years ago of Ian soon after he woke up.)

Monday through Friday is the routine of getting up early enough to get ready for school.  There has to be time for Ian to eat his breakfast, drink his hot chocolate, take his vitamins and allergy medicine this time of year, get dressed, go to the bathroom, and brush his teeth.

I too have to get ready since I am usually the one who takes him to school.  Neither of us can fall out of bed and go.  We need time to fully wake up and get prepared for what the day has in store.

Saturdays are often time to rest for us and to veg out at home.  We spend most of the day in our pjs, which is fun, and our hair is going every direction.  These are not the days of photos, that’s for sure.  But these are fun times that I treasure.

A quote says, “There are only 940 Saturdays between your child’s birth and them leaving for college.”  This gave me pause when I first read it.  That is all I have?  What?  Someone forgot to mention that as I was carrying him for 9 months.

Then it helped me realize the importance of making the time with him count and not taking any time for granted.  So, the fun we sometimes get to have at home is truly special and full of memories.

I savor these times when Ian really does want to be home playing all day in his room, watching a movie with the three of us on the couch, and reading a book before bed.  I know that time won’t last.  Soon, he will be busy with sports, other activities, will want to spend the days with friends, and be out and about all day.

But, for now we enjoy our Saturday bliss.

Today I am thankful for:

  • Messy hair and rumbled pajamas
  • Two hot cups of tea
  • A long hug from Ian
  • Hearing, “I love you very much Mommy”
  • Watching “The Pioneer Woman” as a family
  • Eating leftovers for lunch
  • Having time to read a library book or magazine
  • Working on projects at home
  • Observing a boy playing on the floor
  • Watching a funny “Busytown Mysteries” cartoon with Ian
  • Listening to flashback weekend songs on the radio

I wonder what fun and interesting things will happen on this Saturday Bliss?  Can’t wait to find out and enjoy each and every minute!  Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

