Five Minute Friday – Choose

cropped-gedc2754.jpgHi and Happy Friday.  Today is Five Minute Friday and the word is Choose.  I will put the rules at the end of this posting.

5minutefridayOkay, 5 minutes on Choose… Go…

Today I am sad over a few people in my family and a friend who are sick and battling major illnesses, but I choose to pray for them and try to be happy they are in my life.  These strong women all mean something to me in their own way.

One just found out she has a malignant mass in her colon.  This was a surprise to her and to the rest of us.  She is an older person who is having an easier time of dealing with what lies ahead than her family does.

Another relative is completing her first round of chemo for breast cancer and the other is a friend who is having her second round of chemo for leukemia.  They all are dealing with major things and yet are positive and upbeat about it.  I am impressed in the grace that all of them are showing although they are in pain and struggling.

I admire strong people like this and hope that I too could be the same.  I suppose we choose to make the best of our circumstances. They say that your mind and being positive does help with major problems in our life and our health.

Many things in life are about choosing.  I know someone else who is in decent shape, has had an amazing life and career, and yet complains about a lot of things.  This person often chooses to be miserable and that makes me sad.  I can learn a lot from this person by choosing not to be the same.  I try to be positive and see the positive in life.

prayingWhile we don’t choose the diagnosis we are sometimes given, we do choose how we handle it.   Do we wallow and say why me?  Or do we figure out a way to use every strength we have to fight?  This is a choice that must be made when dealing with difficult news and a terrible chat with a doctor.

We need our friends and families even more during a time like this.  May we who aren’t suffering choose to do all we can for those who are.  And may be pray for one another and for one another’s strength.

I wonder if I can choose to be positive?  I try each day to be and continue to pray for my loved ones.   God bless!

Stop…

Here are the rules for 5 Minute Friday:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…

To see other thoughts on Choose, please see http://lisajobaker.com/2014/02/how-to-choose-whats-important-today/.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Choose

  1. Hi Patti! Wow that’s a tough season you’re in – so many friends, and such challenges! You challenge us all to care for those who are suffering, and to pray for them… this really lands home for me today. We are so blessed, and too often forget it. There’s something about caring for those in trouble that really helps us stay grateful, too. Thanks for joining in the #fmfparty today. xRuth

    • Ruth, Thanks so very much for your kind words. They mean so much. You are right that we often forget. When dealing with others being in pain, it comes right to the surface. Have a great day! Patti

  2. Hi, I’m visiting from FMF. I’m sorry to hear you have so many friends who are sick, but your attitude is spot on. You have to choose to be positive even when it’s hard. And I also like what you said about the complainer, how you choose not to be the same. I’ve often thought that if we took the time to really learn from negative examples, we would all be better off. I hope you have a good day.

    Hugs,
    Melinda

    • Melinda, Thanks so much for stopping by! I truly appreciate your compliments. They really mean a lot. I think we get caught up in our own worries and stuff sometimes. This was a great chance to vent. Hugs to you too. Patti

Leave a Reply

