Random Thoughts – See, Roy G. Biv, Manmade

Note-To_mommyHi and Happy Friday.  Today I have written on a few prompts that I have read about from a variety of sources.  I didn’t want to cover just one so I thought I would include all three.  They are See, Roy G. Biv, and Manmade.

I am posting three pictures — one that was a thank you note that Ian wrote (thus manmade) that I was happy to see and read.  That picture takes care of those two subjects.  The second is of a rainbow that Ian and worked on together — thus Roy G. Biv, and the third is a special quote.

See

This was a prompt for today from Five Minute Friday.  I decided to bypass the usual rules and just write on the subject.  To be able to see is a true blessing.  I have often wondered what it would be like not to.  I didn’t like that thought at all.

Seeing is something I don’t take for granted.  Ever since 8th grade, I have worn either glasses or contacts so I know my eyes need help.  When I don’t have them on, it is truly hard for me to see anything but fuzzy images.

There are several things that I especially like to see — my husband’s grin and grabbing of my hand as he tells me I am precious to him, my son’s smile as he tells me he loves me and thanks me for something special, and my family and my friends who I love to spend time with.

I also like to see a sunrise over our neighborhood, a sunset into my favorite ocean, the beauty of a rainbow or the starting of spring, a play in action, being able to read a favorite book, seeing a friend’s book be published, and the list goes on.

POD_July.23__I.Drew.ThisROY G. BIV

This was a prompt from WordPress.  Do you know what that name is?  I remember learning this acronym in 8th grade.  It is the colors of the rainbow — Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, and Violet.

I love all of these colors of the rainbow and rainbows themselves.  There is nothing like seeing a rainbow in the sky after a day or two of rain.  It is so lovely and lets you know that things are going to improve.  I remember one of my favorite pictures that is now on a necklace.  It is of a rainbow on top of our family’s beach house.  Talk about special.

Many of you know how important rainbows are to me.  After all, my grandpa’s character who inspired the title of this blog was always trying to find where rainbows come from.  It was his life’s journey to try to find that answer.  Each story ended with Willie scratching his head and saying, “I Still Wonder Where Rainbows Come From.”  Keeping this blog going is my way of keeping my grandpa and Willie alive and their quest for finding answers.

MANMADE

This prompt is from Fat Mum Slim’s Photo-A-Day Challenge.  Our world is full of things made by God and nature and those which are manmade.  I love the beauty of both.   For manmade items: there is beauty in the Eiffel Tower in Paris, a painting by Monet who is my favorite, a photo of my young son by my photographer friend which made me cry when I received it, and a special note that my son wrote for me.

Man has been working on inventions and things to make for many years.  I love the fact that someone invented a toaster, a computer, a camera, a washing machine, a garage door opener, a pen and pencil, a Post-it Note, a staple remover, a hairbrush, a tea kettle, a microwave, and a telephone.  That is just the tip of the iceberg but many things that I use almost every day.

I have often thought it would be great to invent something but what can I come up with?  I will try to think of something. What are some of your favorite manmade items?  What about them is special to you? Are they big like a car or small like a staple?

May you have a wonderful Friday and may you See many things around you, enjoy the Manmade items in your life, and appreciate the colors of ROYGBIV.scan0154

Leave a Reply

