End of 2013 / Happy New Year!

party.hatsCan you believe that today is the last day of 2013?  Neither can I!

This year has flown by for us.  It has been a good one with many changes – both good and bad.  Now is the time to look back on the year that was and think ahead to the coming year.

For the first time in many years, my family didn’t have a vacation this year.  I hope that we can change that and enjoy the rest of our break for Ian from school.  Perhaps we can do a few things around town and have fun!

We lost a few people who are close to us this year and that has been really hard.  Several friends and family members are having health issues and I am praying for them to get better very soon.  I hope also that we will have a wonderful and healthy coming year!  Hope you will as well!

Also, this year I began working with the PTO at Ian’s school.  I am serving as the secretary.  It has been a great way to meet people and get involved.  I have made some new friends as well.  So this has been a fun use of my time.

This week, I read in a magazine some fun items for the end of 2013.  Here they are with my answers:

**Plans at Midnight:  I hope to be awake long enough to kiss my husband and say Happy New Year!  We usually watch the ball drop in Times Square with a sleeping boy in his room and us fighting to stay awake.  Nights out partying into the new year are a thing of the past.

**Celebratory Drink: White Zinfandel in a glass with ice.  This is my favorite way to give a toast!  To 2013, cheers.  To 2014, may it be a good one!

**Hangover Cure:  Don’t drink enough to need this.

**One Word To Describe 2013: Changes.  With Ian starting school and so much else going on, it truly has been a year of transition for us.  It was hard at first but knowing how much he loves school and learning has made it so much easier.

**Dream Travel for 2014: I hope my family can go to the beach for vacation and see my cousin in South Carolina (perhaps the same trip or two trips).  We’ll see what we can do.

Tonight our church has a service that we plan to attend.  We will celebrate communion, which is a cool way to usher out the old year, I think.  And, then we’ll eat with my parents and get home before it gets too late.

Then Wednesday late morning, I plan to watch the Tournament of Roses Parade in its entirety.  This, in my opinion, is by far the best parade of the year.  Ian is looking forward to it as well.  A lazy day will be wonderful!!!  Whatever you do to celebrate New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day, may you be safe and careful!

Here are the words of Auld Lang Syne, which I am sure we will hear at some point tonight.  What do you think of the words?  I think it’s important to remember old acquaintances and be thankful for them.

Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind?
Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and old lang syne?

CHORUS:
For auld lang syne, my dear,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.
And surely you’ll buy your pint cup!
and surely I’ll buy mine!
And we’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

Here are a few quotes about New Year’s:

  • “Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.” — Oprah Winfrey
  • “Tomorrow, is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.”– Brad Paisley
  • “We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.” — Edith Lovejoy Pierce
  • “May all your troubles last as long as your New Year’s resolutions.” — Joey Adams
Leave a Reply

