A Crafty Christmas

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAHi and Happy Christmas Eve Eve!  It is hard to believe we just have two days until Christmas!

The only thing we have left to do is finish wrapping some gifts and be ready to exchange them.  We had a family get together yesterday and that was fun. I like a few days of get togethers with both sides of the family.

This year I was very crafty and made items for the first time.  That was partly because of trying to spend less, but also because it was something that I wanted to try.  I had some quality time at home to work on a variety of items for family. It was fun to listen to music and work in our kitchen.  I enjoyed this much better than a lot of time at the stores.

The first picture is of the food that I made — cookies, fudge, and chocolate covered pretzels and white chocolate covered pretzels.  Some of these were challenging since I’d never made them before.  I am glad though that I did this since it was something new to learn and fun as well.

One evening we were watching Ree Drummond on “The Pioneer Woman.”  Ian and I both enjoy her show very much.  She made peppermint fudge.  Since chocolate mint is my favorite, my ears perked right up.  I wrote down the recipe and then looked it up online. Then time at the store.

I made two batches of that, one batch of chocolate fudge, and one batch of chocolate peanut butter fudge.  It was pretty easy and sure tastes good and is very rich.

My next venture was baking cookies — sugar, chocolate chip, and pumpkin spice chocolate chip.  These turned out well and people have liked them so far.  My son, husband, and dad are all self-described cookie monsters so they all have been happy with the results.  Of that I am very pleased.

The last item was the pretzels.  I really like white chocolate covered pretzels and thought it would be fun to make them and the regular chocolate covered as well.  These were the most tedious and I need more practice.  The time it took to cover was almost not enough since the chocolate started hardening so quickly.  Thankfully I made it in time but barely.

My other project was making bead ornaments in the shapes of wreaths and candy canes.  We have made these with my mother for several years now.  I decided it would be fun to make them this year to give away as gifts.

These are fun and very easy to do with pipe cleaners (or fuzzy sticks as the package said) and a variety of beads.  You can see a few of our ornaments in the picture at the bottom of the blog.  Ian helped me make these over two evenings while we were watching television.

I don’t mean to sound like I am talking myself up.  But, when you haven’t done certain things before as I hadn’t, it is fun to share that you had success.  At least it was for me.   This year I have felt like Crafty Patti and it’s been a rewarding experience.

We did buy gifts to go along with the homemade ones.  It is a nice pairing, I think.  May you have a wonderful and very blessed Christmas week!  Please let me know if you too have had a crafty Christmas!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

