Happy November 1st

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAHi and Happy Friday!  Can you believe it’s the 1st day of November?  I sure can’t.  This year has flown by.

Today’s photo challenge is Fruit, which I just can’t get into today.  Don’t get me wrong, I love fruit and eat it most mornings.  I especially like oatmeal with blueberries.

I had that this morning with some almond slivers on top.  But, I forgot to take a picture. So, what to write about?

And, Five Minute Friday is on Grace.  This is a great word and gift and was the name of our church for a while, until we returned to where we’d met.  I have also liked this as a girl’s name.

I could write much longer on this subject and may tomorrow.  But instead today I want to write about our Halloween.

Ian stayed home from school yesterday since we have been battling sinus infections.  Needless to say, we didn’t feel good but thankfully aren’t contagious.  Because of that, we didn’t go out trick-or-treating.

Instead Ian helped me hand out candy.  He had a great time giving out candy to other kids.  We had 135 small boxes of candy that we gave out — 1 to each person. Quite a turnout!

We gave out candy for about two hours before running out.  We then watched a video and hung out.  It was a fun evening that Ian really enjoyed. He told me, “There weren’t that many scary costumes.”  Of that he was very glad and so was I.

He definitely doesn’t like scary things.  I have explained to him that lots of people like to be scared and scare others on Halloween.  But that we don’t.  “Me neither Mommy,” he told me.

Prior to choosing this veterinarian costume, he tried on three others — an Indian, a knight, and a bandit.  He had a hard time deciding what he wanted to be.   Then he settled on being Dr. Ian.

“Mommy, I want to be a doctor, an animal doctor,” he said.  “Great Ian.  You can even be more than one if you want,” I told him.  “No, this one,’ he informed me.

Despite our Halloween not being exactly what I’d planned on, it was still a great evening that we truly enjoyed.  Hope yours was great as well.

On the church calendar, today, November 1st,  is All Saint’s Day to honor saints.  I like to think about and remember those in my life who have passed away.  I also like to pause and be thankful for all that I learned from them and realize how blessed I am to have those who are still in my life.

May we have a great weekend and truly appreciate and enjoy those we are with.

Leave a Reply

