Happy Anniversary Kirk!

Our Wedding DayHappy Anniversary to my husband, Kirk.  Today is our 15th anniversary.  It is also my Dad’s birthday.  (Please see the birthday post from yesterday for him.)

Here we are on our wedding day.  What a fun day that was!  Talk about Throwback Thursday.

Since that time, we have lost several dear family members and friends, but also many have been added to the family.

Our flower girl graduated from college and is now a teacher and doing really well!  We are very proud of her.  Our ring bearer celebrated his 20th birthday this week.  He is in school and working and we are also proud of him.

It is hard to believe how grown up they are now.  Time flies, that’s for sure.  My nephew who was 1 when we got married just turned 16 years old.  He is a fine young man and enjoying school.

I understand that for the 15th anniversary, the traditional gift is crystal and the more modern gift is watches and timepieces.  Not sure about a gift of crystal but I think Kirk would like a new watch or clock.  We have a few special ones that we have gotten over the years.

It is fun to think back over the years of our relationship and the fun and great things we have done together.  We have traveled to Scotland and Hawaii to visit family, have purchased a variety of cars, moved from a condo to a house, and, the greatest adventure, having our son Ian.

I am blessed by these two men in my life — my best guy and my best little guy.  I thank the Lord each day for the two of them and how they have enriched my life.

When Kirk and I met, it was at an evening service at my church.  I never expected to meet someone there — let alone it be my future husband.  I believe that the Lord ensured that he was there when it was time for us to meet.  We do believe in Divine Intervention.  We clicked immediately and had a 12-hour first date.

Later that year, we were planning a wedding that included our dear friends and family and a surprise visit from my best friend from elementary school.

At the time I was singing in the choir at church.  The choir sang us a beautiful blessing during our service.  I had to really work not to cry.  And, my aunt who always played the piano for family gatherings was there to play special family music prior to the service.

All in all, it was a glorious day.  And, thanks to my hubby and son, I have had many glorious days since.  My favorite thing to do is have the three of us talk in bed and laugh and giggle when we wake up.  It is our special family time.

Now.Oct.21Kirk, I love you more than I ever thought possible to love someone else.  I cherish our life and love more and more each year that we are together.

A few quotes about anniversaries and love:

  • “Our wedding was many years ago.  The celebration continues to this day.”  ~ Gene Perret
  • “A wedding anniversary is the celebration of love, trust, partnership, tolerance and tenacity.  The order varies for any given year.”  ~ Paul Sweeney
  • “An anniversary is a time to celebrate the joys of today, the memories of yesterday, and the hopes of tomorrow. ” ~ Author Unknown
  • “For you see, each day I love you more, Today more than yesterday and less than tomorrow. “~ Rosemonde Gerard
  • “Love one another and you will be happy.  It’s as simple and as difficult as that. ” ~Michael Leunig
2 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary Kirk!

Leave a Reply

