5 Minute Friday – Write

5minutefridayHi and Happy Friday!

Today’s Five Minute Friday word is Write.

Here are the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…

No Go…

POD_July.31_Workspace.1I love to write!  Just absolutely love it!

Writing is something I have always done and still love it.  It is a passion and was also a vocation for many years.  It is something that I am at times driven to do and must do.

I enjoy writing blogs about things I think about, short stories, poems, and a variety of other items.  I have also written a play and wrote many news articles for the newspaper where I worked.  I have also enjoyed doing interviews.

My dream is to write a children’s book and I have some great ideas.  I just need to find the time to get my ideas down.  I also want to write a historical fiction novel.  That too is in the initial stages.

Some people say that writing is hard but usually for me it comes easily. There are days when nothing inspires me or comes to mind.  I suppose that is the time when it isn’t easy for me.  I suppose I need to try anyway and work through it.

My son is now learning to write letters and learning to read.  I am so excited for him and all of the new things that he will be able to do.  It is truly an exciting time that I am privileged to be a part of.

He has already written a few great short stories and has a great imagination!

I wonder what my next writing will be?  I look forward to finding out.

Now STOP.

I wanted to add a few quotes about Writing:

  • “And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise.  The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt. ” ~Sylvia Plath
  • “Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.”  ~E.L. Doctorow
  • “A word is not the same with one writer as with another.  One tears it from his guts.  The other pulls it out of his overcoat pocket.” ~Charles Peguy
  • “If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”  ~Toni Morrison
  • “Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”  ~William Wordsworth

To read other postings, please click on http://lisajobaker.com/2013/10/five-minute-friday-write/.

8 thoughts on “5 Minute Friday – Write

  1. Hi Patti,
    My son, too, is learning letters and words and writing and it is so exciting. He dictates a lot of stories and then draws the pictures under my writing. It’s a great creative exercise! And we’re teaching the little ones not to be afraid of their voices. Carry on!

    • Hi! I have done that same thing with my son too! It’s amazing what they can come up with, isn’t it?! Like you, I am thrilled at this exercise. And, helping him realize he has things to say. Hope you carry on as well. Patti

  2. Oh my goodness Patti. I love, love, love this quote “Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.” I can absolutely identify with that! I swear that my characters are like real life friends that yell in my ears! I also love to write! Thanks for stopping by my blog and I’m glad that I popped in to yours! Great post!
    ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

