September 18 – Vintage

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAHappy Wednesday!  Today’s photo challenge is Vintage.

I chose my old Brownie camera and a hand-crank music box that I have had for years.  Then I had fun with editing software to give the vintage look to the photo.

It is amazing to me that people took such incredible pictures using the Brownie camera and then developed the film in a darkroom.   This was done for many, many years.  My grandfather (dad’s dad who I never knew) was an amazing photographer with a Brownie.  I recently saw his collection and was so very impressed.

This music box has a lovely tune that speeds up or slows down, depending on how quickly the crank is turned.  Ian was fascinated with it this morning.

I don’t know about you but I love Vintage stuff.  It is fun to look at old photos, see items that had been my grandparents, and see how things used to be done.

And, I love the vintage clothing and for that matter, clothes on sale.  We just recently bought some great clothes at a Goodwill store.  Have you been to one?  Many treasures are just waiting to be found!

Here are few quotes on Vintage:

  • “There’s a vintage that comes with age and experience.” — Jon Bon Jovi
  • “In the fashion industry, everything goes retro except the prices.” — Chris Jammi
  • “I like old movies, screwball comedies, vintage clothes, and basically I’m an old-fashioned gal.” – Zooey Deshanel

What she said is so me!  I so love old movies starring Cary Grant and Grace Kelly, like “To Catch A Thief.”  One of my favorites is “Double Indemnity” starring Barbara Stanwyck.  It is classic Film Noir and she is fantastic in it – so devious and cunning.

The list of old movies that I like is actually very long.  And, I love the old comedies such as “It Happened One Night,” as well as television shows with my favorites Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett.

I also love wearing hats and so wish they would come back in style!  At my previous job, I was called the Hat Lady, which was a name I proudly wore.  I also love my old china cups and saucers that had been my grandmother’s and many other treasures from them.  Mainly photos, memories, and wonderful stories.

Vintage is great and something that I enjoy very much.  What about you?  Are you vintage or more modern?

2 thoughts on “September 18 – Vintage

Leave a Reply

