September 11 — What You Did Today

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERASeptember 11 is a day I will never forgot. I think that it’s interesting that today’s photo challenge is What We Did Today.

This is the sunrise I had the pleasure of watching today after dropping my son off from school. I think it is beautiful, don’t you.  I love the sun shining through the clouds.

When we wake up in the morning and start getting ready, the sun is just starting to rise.  Ian often asks me, “Mommy, is it morning yet?”  I will tell him “Yes, and the sun is getting us with us.”  He likes that.

This morning, Ian’s school has their flag at half-staff in honor of the 9/11 victims and their families.  That was a stark and profound reminder of what happened that day.

I can still remember exactly when the 2nd tower was hit and the chills that went through me.  At first it looked like a possible accident, and then, seeing the second plane, I knew it was deliberate. Life has changed quite a bit since then for many of us — especially traveling on airplanes and in other ways as well.

On television shows set in NYC, you can tell if it is pre-2001 or post-2001 because of the inclusion or absence of those towers.  It is still stunning to think they fell and so many people were directly affected and impacted by that.

That particular day I was at work after having celebrating the birth of my niece over the weekend,  Our family was able to celebrate the birth of Rachel.    It was a real blessing for us to see a new life and reason for celebration. She turned 12 a few days ago.

Then of the 9/11/2001, the news of the Twin Towers, the Pentagon, and the plane going down.  So much death and suffering and pain, yet we saw some of the best in people.  True heroes stepped up where help was needed and we pulled together as a nation.  It was truly the best of times and the worst of times.

I hope and pray that we can remember to cherish each and every moment with our families and friends.  We truly don’t know when the last time is that we will see them.  May we never take each other for granted.

This morning when I returned home, I started reading notes and tributes about 9/11 and the tragedy and to never forget.  I also heard the amazing Lee Greenwood song, “God Bless America.”  I have to say I cried as I heard these words:

  • “I’m proud to be an American where at least I know I’m free
  • And I won’t forgot the men who died who gave that right to me
  • And I’ll gladly stand up next to you and defend her still today
  • Cause there ain’t no doubt, I love this land, God Bless the USA!”

So fitting for today and for honoring those who were lost.  May we live each day to the fullest and truly appreciate our freedoms.  And, may we never take one another for granted but always tell and show those who we love that we do love them.

May you have a blessed and loving September 11.

Leave a Reply

