Five Minute Friday – Lonely

5minutefridayHi and Happy Friday!  TGIF.

Looks like another day of rain. In fact, probably a weekend of it.  I just hope and pray there isn’t much more flooding.

Today’s Five Minute Friday word is Lonely.

Here are the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…

Now GO …

As usual my first thoughts on these words go to songs.  I remember the song, “Owner of  A Lonely Heart” but don’t remember who recorded it.

I do remember that for some reason my mother didn’t like that song.  There were some lyrics that she didn’t like.  I will have to research those and see since I can’t recall the problem as I write this.

Another song that comes to mind has the line, “have you ever been lonely” or something like that?  Have I been lonely?  Yes, but it’s been a while.  And, thankfully, not often.

Even before I got married and lived alone, I was rarely lonely.  Somewhere along the way I learned to enjoy being by myself and find contentment without being dependent on others.  That is something that I am very thankful for.

Being lonely just seems sad and like your missing something.  The definition states, “being without company” or “cut off from others.”

With all going on these days and being so tapped in to electronics, can we truly be lonely?  I have heard of people feeling alone even surrounded by others.  That is sad to think about, isn’t it?

For those feeling lonely, I hope and pray that you can reach out to someone.  There are people who care and can help.

Now STOP.

To read other thoughts on Lonely, please see http://lisajobaker.com/2013/08/five-minute-friday-lonely/.

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Lonely

  1. Visiting from FMF! 🙂
    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. You are very blessed for never really feeling lonely. Before I was married I liked to be by myself and live by myself but after awhile I really needed conversation. I began to feel very lonely. Fortunately with technology today I could find someone to talk to but it just wasn’t the same as being in person sitting across the table from someone and having a good conversation. I think that through technology we have began to lose our face-to-face conversations. Or at least minimize them. What do you think?

    • Shelbey, Thanks so much for your comments. It is great to hear from you. I sometimes get lonely and also need the interaction and conversation with my friends — especially female friends. Technology is a double-edge sword. We can talk but hide at the same time. I think you are right about it changing relationships! Patti

Leave a Reply

