The Golden Hour — Lovely Sunset

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAHello and Happy Wednesday!! Word Press has a photo challenge each week as part of The Daily Post.  This week’s is The Golden Hour.

The Golden Hour is described in this challenge as the first and last hour of sunlight in the day.  So, it would be the time that the sun is rising or setting.

I don’t know about you, but I love to watch sunsets!  Especially at the ocean at Mission Beach, California.

Over the years, I have taken hundreds if not thousands of photos of these sunsets.  When we are there at the beach, each night after dinner we walk down to the seawall and watch the sun go down.  This is a great family tradition that I truly love and have missed this year.

Last summer we saw a green flash – a cool phenomenon that only happens on the most perfect of evenings.  Just as the sun hits the horizon, you see a flash of green light.  If you blink, you can miss it.

This photo is from last summer on a more cloudy night.  I love how the setting sun is peaking around the clouds and reflecting on the water.

This photo is the background on my computer.  I get to enjoy this beauty each day!

I have wondered why I never take sunset photos at my house – away from the ocean.  The trees are lovely and the colors in the sky are really nice.  But, you can’t see the horizon and the sun actually look like it’s dropping into the ocean as you can at the beach.  Maybe that is the difference.

It has always been easier for me to do sunset photos than sunrise.  I am a night owl, not a morning person.  So, to get up with the sun is a challenge for me.  I will have to try it sometime to see what pictures I can come up with.

I wonder when I will see the next beautiful sunset?  I hope it is soon.

To read more about this weekly challenge, please see http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/12/the-golden-hour/

One thought on “The Golden Hour — Lovely Sunset

  1. I want to thank all of the people who have liked this posting! I really appreciate you stopping by and liking this. I think this number is a record for me!

    Thanks and I look forward to reading your posts and seeing your blogs! Patti

Leave a Reply

