In Between – Five Minute Friday Word

Today’s word for Five Minute Friday is In Between.5minutefriday

Here are the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…

Now GO …

Normally when I do these writings, I first think of song lyrics.  But, today I am at a loss for a song about In Between.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAInstead I am thinking that this summer is an in between time for me.  You see in August, my son will start kindergarten.  His early childhood at home with mommy is coming to a rapid close.  (Here I am with him a few summers ago at the beach.)

I am so blessed beyond words to have had all of this time with him.  My husband and I planned so that I could be a stay-at-home mom and that is the best thing I think I have ever done!

Prior to my son being born, I’d had a nice, long career related to my college major.  I worked as a reporter and then several different offices as a technical writer.  This was very fulfilling and meant a lot.

Then Ian was born, I had my maternity leave, and then went back to work for about a month and a half.  You know what, I decided then that I didn’t want to just see my son at the end of the day.  It was an easy decision and one that I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to do!

Now, he is about to start the adventure of school.  He is so excited and ready to be there all day.  I have to admit that I am less so.

I am in between total happiness in this next phase of his life and his growing up, and sadness that my baby is no longer a baby.

I don’t want him to see that I am sad since it will upset him.  Instead I quietly think about it and look forward to a fun-filled summer with him and my husband.

To all of you with kids starting kindergarten, I know that we’ll make it and our kids will be fine.  It’s just the next phase of life.

Scripture says there is a time to every purpose under Heaven.  The time is now for a sweet young boy to start his school adventure.

To all of you who have been through this, I’d love some words of advice!!

STOP!!!

I wonder how much fun we can cram into the summer before school starts?!  I sure plan to do a lot of fun things with my son.  I want to make memories with him during this last summer before school.

It is the end of an era and the start of the new one.  He is ready and beyond excited and that is awesome!!!

To read other postings on In Between, please see http://lisajobaker.com/2013/06/five-minute-friday-in-between/

8 thoughts on “In Between – Five Minute Friday Word

  1. You ask for some words of advice, but how do you give advice to somebody who is living in between total happiness and what comes next (when most of us live between now and the total happiness we desire). My best advice is to listen to your own (it hasn’t let you down SO far!)

    • Thank you! I will listen to that internal voice. That is some great advice! I also meant advice on how to hold it together on the first day of school.

      We do all seem to live between things, don’t we?! Patti

  2. Patti, Your post brought tears to my eyes. Oh, how I remember that time in life! When Kendrick was a baby I remember wondering what he would look like when he was five. The years of the “in between” go by so quickly. I am going through a new in between with him now. This year is the ending of his high school career and the beginning of young adulthood. As parents we work towards raising children that will one day be independent……but, it is difficult.
    Ian is blessed with you as his mommy, and that you were able to stay home and make memories with him:) Kindergarten will be bittersweet, but you will make it!

    • Hi my friend! Your post brought tears to my eyes as well.

      I cannot thank you enough for your encouragement and kind words. We are both dealing with major transitions with our boys!

      Those years do fly by! I can’t believe that Kendrick is already at the end of high school. I remember so vividly when he was 5 years old!

      Yes the job of a parent is tough. Teaching them the ways to leave you and have their own life is quite a task but what is needed for our kiddos.

      I have felt so blessed by all of this amazing time with him! And, I have to remember that it won’t be going away, just changing.

      Thanks again! Patti

  3. Dear Patti
    Both my sons are university students at the moment, but I recall their school days when I used to sit next to the sport field, being a mom’s taxi, and all the precious things that come with your child going to school!
    Blessings
    Mia

  4. Ah yes, the time really does fly by. I have a couple years before my youngest heads off to kindergarten, but it will be here before we know it. I understand the feelings so well.
    Keep up the God work.

    • Lori, You are so right! It does fly by. I am doing my best to make the best of it my time!

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I am happy to hear from you. Patti

Leave a Reply

