Fall is the Word for June 7

5minutefridayHi and Happy Friday!  Here we are on the first Friday in June!

I can’t believe we are 6 months into the year already.  Time time certainly flies, doesn’t it?!

Today’s word for Five Minute Friday is Fall.

Here are the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…

Now GO …

Confusions said, “Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”

This is a great quote and something that I thought of at first when seeing the word for today.

Life is full of falling down and then picking yourself back up again.  A roller coaster you could say.

My husband and I are teaching our son that life is full of things that you don’t want to do.  We are also teaching him that sometimes bad and messy things happen.

And you know what he is learning, when you spill something, you clean up.  When you make a mess, you clean it up.  When you make a mistake, you fix it.

I think this is very important in a world that seems to be missing teaching kids about failing or losing.

Have you noticed in recent years that all kids who participate in sports get a prize or a trophy?  While I think it is great to recognize and celebrate all kids being active in something, I still think that they need to learn how to lose and lose gracefully.

If they don’t learn that while young, what will happen during the big game in college or on the first job interview that they don’t get?

We can learn a lot when things don’t go our way.  We find out what we are made of and what we can do.

I am all for making dreams come true and having a positive outlook on life.  But I also want my son to know that it’s not the end of the world when he falls or fails.

Okay … STOP.  Time is already up.  My those 5 minutes go quickly.

Here are few more great quotes that I wanted to add:

  • “Most important thing in life is learning how to fall,”  Jeannette Walls
  • “Sometimes it takes a really good fall to learn where you stand,” Hayley Williams

I wonder what I will learn the next time I fall.  I am sure that it will something since I make mistakes.  The blessing is that I can learn from them and teach my son about them as well.

To read other thoughts on Fall, please check out Five Minute Friday –http://lisajobaker.com/2013/06/five-minute-friday-fall/

6 thoughts on “Fall is the Word for June 7

  1. OH yes, this was great and yes my girls skate and they do not give out awards to everyone, and I kinda LOVE it. I agree when you make a mistake you fix it, when you make a mess you clean it up. You still have to work!!

  2. Dear Patti
    I don’t think we develop physically, emotionally or spiritually if we don’t fall many, many, many times. The falling down is good; it is the fear to try again and to go on that is a big problem.
    Much love
    Mia

Leave a Reply

