Five Minute Friday — Imagine

5minutefridayHi and Happy Friday!  Can you believe it’s the last day of May?  This month went so fast.

Today’s word for Five Minute Friday is Imagine.

Here are the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…

Now GO …

A few things come to mind at first when I think of the word Imagine.

There is an amazing song by the group Mercy Me, entitled, “I Can Only Imagine.”

This song imagines what it would be like to meet God in Heaven.   The singer basically asks would I fall on my knees or just be in total awe.  Each time I hear this song, I get tears in my eyes.

I remember the first time I heard it was soon after the death of a dear friend.  That time I truly cried since I knew that friend was in God’s presence.  Thinking of it now gives me chills.

Another song is “Imagine” by John Lennon.  There is a line in this song about Heaven that has always bothered me.   It states, “Imagine there’s no Heaven, it’s easy if you try.”

I don’t agree with him although it is a compelling song.  I believe in Heaven and know it exists.

Isn’t it funny that my first two items have to do with music when thinking of this word.  The other thing that comes to mind is my son Ian.

He loves to play and imagine.  He is creative throughout the day and loves to make up friends and voices for his favorite stuffed friends.

I love seeing his mind at work and what he comes up with.  It is truly an inspiration.

Being able to imagine a variety of things to me is a gift.  I am so thankful that my son has that gift.

STOP … times up.

To check out other amazing blogs from the FMF community, please check out http://lisajobaker.com/2013/05/five-minute-friday-imagine/.

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday — Imagine

  1. Hi Patti 🙂

    Song lyrics have also come to my mind when I participate in Lisa’s FMF.
    It helps to kick start writing ideas! 🙂
    Thankful that your son is an inspiration for you 🙂
    Have a blessed weekend!

    xo
    Esther

    • Hi Esther, thanks so much for your comment. I tried posting one to your site but had some trouble.

      I totally agree that song lyrics kick start ideas. Those and quotes inspire me.

      My son is also an inspiration. Hope you have a great weekend too! Patti

  2. Dear Patti
    My mind also went to Lennin’s song when I first saw the word today. It is a beautiful song, but the words are so sad. It tells the age old lie that man is able to create peace and love; yet, we know the enemy behind man who whispers in his heart from the beginning that he has the ability to know what good and evil are. Great post!
    Happy FMF.
    Mia

Leave a Reply

