Thursday Tunes — Ian’s Songs

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had planned to write about a different topic today, but then I started thinking of some recent songs that Ian has made up and knew I had to write about my son.

This first picture is on his 2nd birthday when he received his first toy guitar.  He was so excited at this gift!  He had fun all day with the guitar!  That year he also got a toy violin and two more toy guitars.

Since he was three years old, Ian has been coming up with his own songs.  His first was Oatmeal since he ate a lot of it at the time.  As you might imagine, the entire song is the word Oatmeal.

Although it is repetitive, I absolutely love it and love to hear him sing!  A friend of mine recorded it on video as he sang it and played a pretend guitar.  It is so great!!!

Ian loves music and is recognizing songs that we hear on the radio and CDs.

Recently, he has been singing the words of Footloose, Love is a Battlefield, as well as Twinkle Twinkle Little Star and the ABC song.  Can you tell his mother likes 80s music?

A week or so ago, VH-1 Classic aired concert footage of a Bon Jovi tour.  They are one of my favorite groups!  Ian also seemed to enjoy watching them and especially liked the special microphone that Richie Sambora uses at the beginning of Livin’ On A Prayer.

“Mommy, I like that wwhhaa-whhaa sound.  That is cool,” Ian told me.  “I think so too,” I told him.  “Did you notice how that special mic is in his mouth Ian?”  “YEAH!!!!!,” he said.

I love that Ian is noticing words and the different tunes of music!  He likes all kinds — including some classical.  He has mentioned that a song on Little Einstein’s is also played by the ice cream truck.  I told him he is right.

Ian_with_guitarThis week he has made up a new song and it is absolutely priceless.  It is Jesus Was Born Before the Zeros.  Isn’t that a great title?!

He played his keyboard as well as our piano with the words to this song.  Again, there aren’t many, but it is fantastic and I beamed as he sang it!

Another recent song is My Name is Ian James Cates where he tells his name and a few things about himself.  He moves around like a real rock star does.  It is so fun to watch!

He loves music as much as my husband and I do.  That makes us happy and very proud!  Here he is trying out a real guitar when he was 2 1/2.  You can see it is nearly bigger than him.

I see piano lessons and maybe violin and/or guitar lessons in his future.  If he practices, I think that he will really get good at the music.  And, hopefully he will learn more about how to write music and play it correctly.

I look forward to nurturing this talent.  I love that he has such fun with music and definitely want that to continue.

I wonder what his future with music holds?  Whether a vocation or hobby, I know that it will always be a part of his life.

I so look forward to seeing him grow and mature – both as a young man and a musician, in whatever form that is meant to take!  Rock on Ian!!

One thought on “Thursday Tunes — Ian’s Songs

Leave a Reply

