Ready For Summer!

CATES_at_MBThis month has been a crazy busy one for me.  How about you?

There has been so much to do for a while now.  Hopefully all of that will soon wind down with summer coming!

Can you believe the first day of summer is on Monday with Memorial Day?  Actually it isn’t the first official day of summer but does start the time. Pools open and people get out their boats to take to the lake.  It’s a wonderful time of year!

With many schools starting in mid-August, the summer is now a lot shorter than when I was in school. I remember three months of summer back when I was in high school.  The summers seemed to last forever and did from early June until after Labor Day when we went back.

There has been talk in Tennessee of changing the starting date of school back to September.  I do hope that is done!

I do so love the summer and all of the fun to be had!  Days at the pool or lake, trips to the library and local museums, or doing whatever we feel like.  YEAH!  I just hope it isn’t too humid.  But, in East Tennessee, that is part of the summer.  Time to get used to that!

What I especially like about the summer is going to the beach.  I have been fortunate to go each summer of Ian’s life to our favorite beach — Mission Beach, California (which I have written a lot about).  It has been fun to spend time with our family and see our friends each summer.  The ones there have seen him grow from an 8-month-old to now 5 1/2-year-old.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAFive years in a row for mostly a month visit has been an amazing gift and real pleasure!  I feel totally spoiled and have loved each and every minute!  Above is one picture of us when Ian was 2 years old.  To the left is from last summer when he was playing on the sand.

Unfortunately this summer, we won’t be able to go.  That is a real bummer and something that saddens me greatly.  However, we will make the best of our other activities that we will be doing.

Each time I go to the beach, it is so relaxing and brings back so many memories of my childhood.  I hate I will miss it, but have so many pictures of fun in years past to enjoy.

We can’t do everything that we want and this summer is one of those things.  Perhaps, I will instead go to the community pool to swim, go to the lake for a cookout, go to a baseball game, or simply go out for an ice cream treat.

This summer will be different but it will also be a special one since my son starts kindergarten this fall, actually in August.  My baby is grown up and ready for the next part of his life.

I must admit it is a bit tough on his mommy, but he is so ready!  I am thrilled and excited for him and all of the new things that he will be learning.  He already is a sponge and that will just increase.

Ah, summer!!  How I love it so!  I hope it will be a great one for us and for you as well!  Have fun.

I wonder what our adventures will be with this different summer!  I can’t wait to find out.

Leave a Reply

