Busy Couple of Days

busyFrom Thursday to Sunday, I was pretty much off the grid as far as a computer goes and out of town so I missed out on a few fun events.

I was at a homeschool convention that I will write more about in a day or so.  It was a great experience but made for some very busy and long days.  Busy, busy, busy!

On Thursday, we drove for 5 hours to the convention location and then worked a few hours that night at our booth.  My son and I traveled together and ate lunch along the way.  After helping with the booth, we ate dinner with Kirk at the hotel where the convention was being held.

That day I missed writing my posting on Thursday Tunes, which I recently started.  This week I will be writing about the movie, “Rock of Ages.”  Please check back with me to read this blog.

I also missed a Girls Night Out with some friends from high school and the chance to say goodbye to a friend who is moving to another state.  I hated to miss this but hope to be able to go the next time we get together.

On Friday, we were at the convention for most of the day and met some amazing and fun people!  It was great seeing all of the families and I must admit, I love to people watch and meet new people so it was a good day.

I did, however, miss writing my Five Minute Friday posting.  I will probably write that tomorrow.  The word is SONG so that will be fun!  I just have to not think about it until I write tomorrow, which may be a challenge.

Friday also was the birthday of one of my dearest and oldest (pun intended) friends.  Actually she is 6 months younger than me.  Happy late birthday to you Dawn! I hope that you had a fabulous day!!  I have some fabulous memories of the two of us celebrating our birthdays through the years.

Saturday, we had another busy day at the convention and met some more new people.  Many new contacts were made and that was great!  That night we went to a Ruby Tuesday for dinner.  Needless to say, Ian was pretty tired and went right to sleep once we returned to our hotel.

While at this convention, we missed my Aunt Beth’s birthday party.  Her birthday was on Saturday.  I hated to miss this since we always have fun with my family get-togethers.  But, we couldn’t make it.  Hopefully I will see her again soon!

Then Sunday morning, we were woken up at 4:30 a.m. by a very loud thunderstorm.  That was not fun, but thankfully Ian slept through it.  We had breakfast, packed up, and headed back home.

At around lunch time, we had to get off the interstate because of a thunderstorm.  The rain was so heavy that I couldn’t see past the hood of my car.  Scary to say the least!  Thankfully, I was only 1 mile from an exit where we had lunch.  Thank you Lord for watching out for us!

As I told Ian, it was like driving through a cotton ball.  He totally got that!  On the way home we stopped at our library and grocery store.  When we got home, we were tired and had to unload the car.   Then it was time to relax.  Ahhh!

Sunday was also my friend Dawn’s son, Kendrick’s birthday.  Happy Birthday to you Kendrick!  Hope you had a fabulous day.

I felt really bad that I missed so much, but this weekend was important for my husband’s family business.  I guess sometimes in life you do have to miss things that you want to do.

All in all, we did have a good time with where we were and made the best of it.

Leave a Reply

