5 Minute Friday — Jump

5minutefriday5 Minute Friday Word for April 19 is Jump

Today’s topic for 5 Minute Friday is Here.  Here the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…

Now GO …

Or should I say Jump!

In thinking of Jump, I started humming the Pointer Sisters song, “Jump for my love.”  And, there was the Van Halen Jump song as well.  That was a fun one.

jump_ropeOther things I think of are jumping rope in grade school, people jumping the broom when getting married, and jump shots in basketball.  Do you remember the movie, “White Men Can’t Jump?”  That was a fun movie starring Woody Harrelson, Wesley Snipes, and Rosie Perez.

Another part of jump is jumping into a new facet in life.  I have a preschool age son who in the fall will start kindergarten. The time is now to prepare for this.  It will be tough but I am excited for him and he is over the moon about it.

I have also tried to jump into a weight loss and food change program.  I am trying to make those changes as well.

People say that change is good, but is too much at once a bad thing?  I think it can be at times.  I suppose we just have to take things as they come and try to make the best of them.

Here are a few quotes that seem to go along with the theme of today.  (I used a minute of my writing time to look them up):

  • “Do not follow where the path may lead. Go, instead, where there is no path and leave a trail.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson
  • “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” ~ Les Brown

Okay, stop.

I hope to do some jumping today!  How about you?

Read more thoughts on “Jump” at Lisa-Jo’s Five Minute Friday link-up today.

6 thoughts on “5 Minute Friday — Jump

  1. You and I were on the same page today. I immediately thought of a song today when I saw the prompt. I’m now listening to 90’s music at work – HA. And I can relate to a lot of change at once. It’s A LOT to manage. I’m praying for you today that God helps both of us sort through all of it. Jump on, sistah. 🙂

  2. Dear Patti
    I always wonder why people so often want to jump forward into new experiences and things! The grass might look greener on the other side, but is not necessarily the case. I think we should just jump with gusto into the life and family God has blessed us with and make the best of your life!
    Mia from FMF

    • Hi Mia! I have wondered that as well! We do think the grass is greener and I do agree with you!

      I like the idea of jumping with gusto! God has great things in store!!

      Thanks so much for your comments. Patti

Leave a Reply

