5 Minute Friday — Here

5minutefriday5 Minute Friday Word for April 12 is Here  

Today’s topic for 5 Minute Friday is Here.  Here the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…

Now GO (and try not to be distracted by Ian sitting next to me singing and cutting out shapes).

I remember a great song in the 1980s with the lyrics, “Here and now, I promise to love faithfully.”  That is one great promise.

I also think of the expression here today and gone tomorrow.  I have heard that said for many years but never really thought about it.  It is an important thing to remember since we have no idea how long we have in this life.

The main meaning for here to me is being present and totally into the life in front of me.  Having a 5-year-old helps me to do that.

Have you noticed how good kids are about making the most of every day?  They don’t waste time thinking about what they didn’t do yesterday or worrying about what tomorrow will bring.  They just wake up and hit the ground running each day.

I think that is a great life lesson for me to keep in mind.  Some days I can get so overwhelmed about what is going on over the next week that I forget to stop and truly appreciate what is right in front of me.

Okay stop.  Times up.  And, Ian didn’t even distract me that much!  Thanks Ian!!

I wonder if I can truly be here and now each day this week?  I am going to do be best to do so!  Hope you can as well.

Read more thoughts on “Broken” at Lisa-Jo’s Five Minute Friday link-up today.

2 thoughts on “5 Minute Friday — Here

  1. “The main meaning for here to me is being present and totally into the life in front of me. Having a 5-year-old helps me to do that.”
    Such a great reminder, but sometimes SO hard to do! Thanks for sharing! Stopping by from the link up party!

    • I agree Jennifer that it is sometimes very hard to do! That is why I regularly learn from my son. He does it naturally.

      Thanks so much for stopping by! I appreciate your comment. Patti

Leave a Reply

