Cutting My Rings

ringsOn Friday afternoon of last week, I had to do something that I never thought I would.  I had to have my engagement ring and wedding band cut off my finger at a jeweler.

Thankfully the jeweler was very nice so I didn’t feel too bad while I was there.  That wasn’t until afterwards.

He said, “We’ve seen worse than this.   Give your finger about three weeks to a month to return to normal and the swelling to go down.  Then we can resize your rings for you.”

“Thank you,” I said.  “I will be in touch.”  I left with a sore and naked finger, and wanted to cry.  I couldn’t help but think, how did it come to this?

My finger had swollen quite a bit and since the rings together go almost to the first knuckle, it all was becoming way too tight and starting to be bad for my finger.

Now my ring finger is bare and healing again.   It looks very strange without a ring since I have been wearing one or both of them for 15 years.  This fall will be our 15th anniversary.

The only other time that I couldn’t wear my rings was when I was pregnant and when Ian was first born.  Clearly now, it’s because of my weight and that is upsetting.

I am trying to look at this as the sign that I needed that yes, it is time for some major changes.  And, since I haven’t liked how I look in recent pictures, I want to and am ready to change and finally lose this weight.

After all my son is 5 years old so I can no longer can blame it on the baby weight.   It is a lack of exercise, too much stress, and the need for a better diet.  I need to be eating more fruits and veggies, and a healthier overall diet, and being active each day.

When I was active each day, I felt better and was better able to deal with life’s stressors.  But as I can attest, it is so easy to get into bad habits and stay there.  Time to bring on the good habits again.

I have had success before with losing weight.  Weight Watchers has worked for me as well as 45 minutes per day of cardio activity.  I will be incorporating both of those again.

When I was a senior in college, it was much easier to lose weight than it is now.  Back then I lived on the third floor of the dorm with no stairs, walked all over campus for classes, and took a weight class three times a week.

I was in the best shape of my life.  I looked great and never thought twice about what I ate or what I was doing.  I was just living and since I was so active, my body could more easily process what was going in.

I probably won’t be back to that size again, but I can certainly make some major changes.  I want to get into the size I was when I got pregnant with Ian.  I will be happy with that!

My goal is to make one change each week and try to incorporate that into the overall plan.  I am realistic enough to understand that it took time to get to where I am, so I need time to make the changes.

This week is to work on cutting out the late-night unhealthy snacks which are often a result of stress eating.  It is calming but not the best idea.  Part of my problem is that I love food and love to eat.  I will be working on what I eat and how much.  As a friend of mine mentioned, it is a lifestyle change, not a diet.

I wonder if I can truly make one of these changes each week?  I think that since I am motivated that I will be able to do so.  One week at a time and one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

