Ahh…Sleep

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAZzzzzz….ahhh….sleep!!!!

Last night I got the best night of sleep in about a week.  I felt more refreshed than I have for a while.

It got me thinking about how important a good night’s sleep really is.

When Ian was first born, I got almost no sleep.  I know that all of you who’ve had children can relate to this!!  How do we survive this?  Somehow we do since the Lord gives us the strength to do what we need to for our precious new person.

I had the new mommy fog each morning and would try to remember to sleep when he did.  Sometimes that worked, and sometimes not.  It all depended on what I had going on.

I do highly recommend sleeping when your baby sleeps!!  Anything else, like laundry, housework, time on your computer, etc. can wait.   (Pictured above is a sleeping Baby Ian.)

When Ian turned about 1-year-old, he finally was sleeping better and I slowly but surely started to feel like myself again.  Having 5 or 6 uninterrupted hours of sleep was such an amazing gift!!

This past week, both Ian and I have been sick.  I have a sinus infection and he has a viral thing — mainly cough.  So, our sleep has been interrupted, to say the least.

A few nights ago, he was awake in the middle of the night for a few hours.  He kept coughing and finally settled down with some milk.  We both slept on couches since we needed to have our heads up. I tried not to have us bother Kirk, but that wasn’t totally successful.

Last night, we both had a better night of sleep and I hope we are on the road to recovery and normal sleeping again!

For years I couldn’t take naps.  They didn’t help me at all.  Well, I took a few last weekend when I first started getting sick.  They did help as they had when I was pregnant and Ian was a baby.

Now I truly appreciate my sleep and feel that it is a gift.  The nights when I can sleep for 6 hours without waking up are fabulous.  I need more like 7 or 8 each night but often can’t sleep for all of that time.

I hope and pray that you can sleep at night!!

A few quotes on sleep:

  • “People who say they sleep like a baby usually don’t have one.”  ~Leo J. Burke
  • “There is more refreshment and stimulation in a nap, even of the briefest, than in all the alcohol ever distilled.”  ~Edward Lucas
  • “A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures in the doctor’s book.”  ~Irish Proverb
  • “People who snore always fall asleep first.”  ~Author Unknown
  • “Without enough sleep, we all become tall two-year-olds.”  ~JoJo Jensen, Dirt Farmer Wisdom, 2002
Leave a Reply

