Happy Anniversary Kirk!

“Newlyweds become oldyweds, and oldyweds are the reasons that families work.”  ~Author Unknown

“Success in marriage does not come merely through finding the right mate, but through being the right mate. ” ~Barnett R. Brickner

Happy 14th Anniversary to my hubby Kirk!  I love you very much!

Here we are on our wedding day – looking so young.  We each found the right mate!

I was 30 years old when we got married and the last of my two siblings and I to marry.  For a while I even thought I’d be an old maid.  Then I met Kirk and we clicked and the rest is history.

I truly believe that he was and still is a gift from God.  Prior to meeting him, I had been praying a lot for the man I was supposed to marry.  But more importantly, I prayed for what I wanted my life to be and also what I wanted in a spouse.  The Lord helped me figure that out.  He also helped me discover that I was ready to enter into such a relationship.

I have learned over these 14 years that in a real marriage, you are partners who support one another, who encourage one another, and who often put the other’s needs and wants before your own.  Being considerate of someone else can be challenging at times but that is what we are asked to do in marriage.

We had a great wedding day with so many of our dear family and friends both standing up with us and in the congregation to celebrate. I had four bridesmaids and 1 flower girl – all very dear people.  My sister Cindy was the matron of honor, and the bridesmaids were my sister-in-law Beckie, my best friend Jennifer from high school, and my best friend Dawn from college.  And Ashley, Jennifer’s daughter, was the flower girl.

My best friend from elementary school, Tammy, surprised me by attending the wedding.  If I had known she would be there, she would have been in the wedding. Kirk’s groomsmen were his brother Jon who served as best man.  Then the other men were my brother Richmond, a friend David, and his Uncle Danny from Scotland.  The ring bearer was Jon’s son Jonathan.

Since our wedding, we have lost many dear friends through death but have gained some wonderful new friends and family through births, other marriages, and other changes.  We have been truly and richly blessed.

Kirk truly is my best friend, confident, lover, and one true love.  It is hard to remember my life before him and for that, I am truly thankful.  We have a true partnership and relationship and I couldn’t ask for anything different.

Then 5 years ago, we became parents and started a new chapter in our journey together as man and wife.  Seeing Ian, who was created in love, each day just reminds me over and over again of our special bond.  We three are a family, a special unit, and a team.

Isn’t it funny that when you open your heart up to love, that it continues to expand and grow with the more love in your life?  I truly love Kirk and Ian with all of my heart and always will.

The vows that we said to each other truly mean something and are so important to remember.  Marriage is a big commitment and not to be entered into lightly.

I vowed to Kirk, “I take you to be my wedded husband. To have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness or in health, to love and to cherish ’till death do us part. And hereto I pledge you my faithfulness.”

We have had a wonderful 14 years and I hope and pray that we will have many more!  We also have had some of each of these times throughout these years and we are still going strong!  What a blessing that is to the two of us!  Kirk, I do love you very much!  Thanks so much for being you.

I come from a line of long and happy marriages.  My parents are three years from celebrating 50 years of marriage, my grandparents were married 66 years before my grandfather died, and my great-grandparents were married for close to 70 years (maybe longer, I can’t remember).

This year, my sister and her husband celebrated 19 years of marriage, and my brother and his wife celebrated 18 years of marriage.  I love all of these long-lived relationships!  It gives me hope and encouragement that yes, true love and partnership is alive and well.

I too am thankful that I have just that with Kirk.  Love you Kirk so very much.  May we enjoy our day and each day we have together!

“Come with me my sweet, let’s go make a family, and they will bring us joy for always!”  These words from an old song are so true and precious to me.  We are a family and are full of joy!

Happy Anniversary to my love!

2 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary Kirk!

Leave a Reply

