Happy Birthday Mom!

“I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me.  They have clung to me all my life.”  ~Abraham Lincoln

Well stated Mr. Lincoln!  A mother’s love is an amazing thing.  I was blessed to have and still have a wonderful mother!!!

Today is my mother’s birthday!  Yeah!  We get to celebrate with her today for her party.  I am so looking forward to the party which she is graciously sharing with Ian.  We are celebrating the two of them together and it will be a fun evening.

The above picture was taken many years ago in San Diego of my mother on the left, me in the middle, and my grandma (Mom’s mom) on the right.  It is one of my favorites of our early days going to our family’s favorite beach.  We have many memories from being at that beach together.  In fact, two of the photos that I am including today are from Mission Beach in CA.

I love my mom, whose given name is Mary but is called Mairzy (after the song Mairzy Doats)!  She is a lot of fun and great to talk to.  She has a great zest for life and is always up for time with her kids and grandkids!

My mom was a stay-at-home while the three of us kids were growing up.  Before and after we came along, she was a teacher and a fabulous one at that!  Before I was born, she taught 1st grade and then after myself, my sister Cindy, and brother Richmond were grown, she went back to school, earned a master’s degree and went on to teach kindergarten for a long time.  She has a way with making learning exciting for young children!  And she does that with her grandchildren!  (This picture is of the two of us in the late 1980s on the beach house front porch.)

Mom loves to read, especially mysteries, sing in the church choir and family sing-alongs, watch favorite shows on TV, rest, enjoy the beach and many other things.  She is a soprano with a soaring voice.  Two of my favorites that she sings are “Bali Hai” and “O Holy Night.”  But, I must admit, when I was growing up, I didn’t appreciate her voice as much when we were in the car trying to listen to the radio.

Each birthday growing up, Mom made sure to make us feel very special and we had the best birthdays.  At several of my birthday parties, we made Christmas ornaments.  I still have a few of these from then and enjoy having them on the tree.  A few years ago, a friend of mine told me she used to love coming to my parties and that they were the best.  That was thanks to Mom!

Until I had my own son, I didn’t truly or fully appreciate the depth of love that a mother has for her child/children.  I found that I appreciated my mother so much more after having my own son.  And, I find myself doing a lot of things as she used to do.  Funny, isn’t it how that often happens.

When I was growing up I didn’t want her to teach me how to do much in the kitchen — that teenage rebellion kicked in apparently.  Now, I enjoy doing things with her and Ian!  I want him to learn and need her to help me with those items that I didn’t have the patience to develop early on.

And, I must admit, even today when I am sick and feeling like total crud, I want my mommy!  How about you?  Nothing like a hug and encouraging word from someone who loves you unconditionally and wants only the best for you.  That is what she has always wanted for me and my siblings.  We are truly blessed!

One thing that is truly special and something I cherish, is that each summer since Ian was born, we have had the chance to go to the beach for up to a month with my parents and other family members.  A few times, it has been just me, Mom and Ian.   Wonderful memories were made and much fun was had by all!!

We are currently going to the same church as my parents.  It is fun to see them each week and have Ian have regular time with his grandparents.  This is a picture from Easter this year of (from left) me, Kirk, Ian, Mom and Dad.  (Ian also spends a lot of time with his other set of grandparents.)

I thank the Lord each day for my mother!  She has been a true blessing to me and I so appreciate all that she has done for me over the years.  She taught me to be independent, want to learn, enjoy the love of family, singing, reading, and how to live your faith.  I just hope that I can be the same kind of mother to my son!

A few quotes about mothers:

  • “When you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts.  A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child.”  ~Sophia Loren
  • “Mother love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible.”  ~Marion C. Garretty, quoted in A Little Spoonful of Chicken Soup for the Mother’s Soul
  • “[A] mother is one to whom you hurry when you are troubled.” ~Emily Dickinson
  • “A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.” ~Washington Irving
  • “Any mother could perform the jobs of several air traffic controllers with ease.”  ~Lisa Alther
  • “A mother’s arms are made of tenderness and children sleep soundly in them.” ~Victor Hugo
  • “Mother is a verb, not a noun.”  ~Proverb
Leave a Reply

