Dreams and Dreaming

“You’ve got to have a dream, if you don’t have a dream, how you gonna make a dream come true?”  — from the movie and play South Pacific.

That is a very good question.  How do we make dreams come true?

First, you have to have them or have at least one.  Do you have a dream or two or fifty?  I hope that you do.

And after you have a dream, you have to have the courage to make it come true!  A quote I have heard is “a dream is a wish your heart makes.”  Was that in the Wizard of Oz?  I don’t remember.  Anyway, it is so true.

You then have to take steps in your life to make the dream a reality.  That often takes a lot of hard work and sweat.  But, results in some amazing gifts!!

One of my dreams is to write a children’s book.  I have several ideas but haven’t put in the time and effort to make it happen.  I am a little bit nervous since it may not turn out the way I want it to.  But, I also realize that I have to at least try or I will never know.  Time to get moving!!

Another dream is a long and amazing life for my son.  I want him to be what he wants in life and make the best of it.  I am at the beginning of this journey with him and know there is so much to learn and discover.  For that I am excited!!

One of the most compelling speeches ever given is now called the “I Have a Dream” speech.  It was given many years ago by the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.  He was a phenomenal speaker and had so many amazing things that he dreamed of for himself, his family, and our country.

“I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal,'” he said. “…I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

He was such an eloquent speaker!  There was so much emotion and heart in his speeches, and this one was truly inspired.

Here is something to remember, our dreams don’t have to be big like that, but isn’t it great that there are people who have big dreams?  I sure think so.

In addition to amazing things that we want in our lives and important things to strive for, dreams are also what happens when we sleep.

I remember after my son was born, I didn’t sleep well and only an hour or two at time.  I know that all new parents can relate to this.  I will never forget the day that I woke up remembering a dream I’d had.  I was thrilled and amazed since I finally had gotten enough sleep to go into a dream state.  What that day that was!

There are many people who study and interpret dreams and what they mean.  I suppose there is some truth to what they come up with, but I think a lot of it is our brain processing what we see and hear throughout our day.  And, those things that might be troubling us or keeping us up at night.  What do you think?

Whether a dream is something that you are consciously thinking about and working to make happen, or if it’s a movie you watch while asleep, they are amazing and powerful.  We can learn a lot from both kinds of dreams.

Here are some quotes about dreams:

  • “It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting,” Paolo Coelho
  • “All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.” – Walt Disney
  • “You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.” – C.S. Lewis
  • “Nothing happens unless first a dream.” – Carl Sandburg
  • “Dreams are illustrations… from the book your soul is writing about you.”  ~Marsha Norman
  • “Dreaming is an act of pure imagination, attesting in all men a creative power, which if it were available in waking, would make every man a Dante or Shakespeare.”  ~H.F. Hedge
  • “Dreams are today’s answers to tomorrow’s questions.”  ~Edgar Cayce
  • “Some people dream of success… while others wake up and work hard at it.” – David Frost
One thought on “Dreams and Dreaming

  1. My mother reminded me this afternoon that the song I referenced in my blog is actually from Cinderella, the Disney movie! Now I remember. Thanks Mom.

Leave a Reply

